32 ingredients (broken into components where relevant) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
Guaranteed analysis
as fed · compared to AAFCO dog growth & reproduction minimums
AAFCO, the Association of American Feed Control Officials, publishes minimum nutrient levels for complete dog and cat foods. Each bar below compares this product's declared analysis to the AAFCO dog growth & reproduction minimum, marked by the vertical tick.
✓Labelled complete and balanced (no recognised standard cited)
Protein25%AAFCO min 22.5% DM
Fat16%AAFCO min 8.5% DM
Fibre4%no AAFCO reference
Moisture10%no AAFCO reference
3,857 kcal/kg≈ 1,614 kJ / 100g energy density
Brand transparency
Hill's · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Colgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition) · 3 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2019: Included in excess Vitamin D canned dog food recall. Multiple products affected.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedAAFCO · FDA cGMP
Parent companydisclosed
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
2cracked pearled barleyBarley▾
● Contextual noteA whole grain carbohydrate and fibre source. Provides beta-glucans, a type of soluble fibre associated with gut health benefits.Sources: Veterinary nutrition references
3brewers riceRice / brewer's rice▾
● Contextual noteA highly digestible carbohydrate. Brewer's rice is a milling by-product but still provides nutritional value.Sources: NRC 2006
4pea proteinPea protein / pea starch / pea fibre▾
● Contextual noteFractionated legume derivatives that can be used to increase the protein reading on a guaranteed analysis without providing a complete amino acid profile. More relevant than whole peas to the FDA's DCM investigation (2018-2022, no causal link established).Sources: FDA DCM Investigation 2018-2022
5chicken fat▾
● Standard ingredientA named animal fat source providing energy and essential fatty acids.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
6chicken mealNamed species meat meal▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Rendered meal from a named animal species: a concentrated protein source with water and fat removed. The species is identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · Veterinary nutrition references
7whole grain cornCorn / corn gluten meal▾
● Contextual noteA digestible carbohydrate and protein source for most dogs. Commonly characterised as filler in consumer discussions, but veterinary nutrition research supports its nutritional value.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
8egg productWhole eggs / dried egg product▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Egg protein has the highest biological value of any common protein source, providing a complete amino acid profile.Sources: NRC 2006 · Protein biological value studies
Show all 32 ingredients ▾
9corn protein mealCorn / corn gluten meal▾
● Contextual noteA digestible carbohydrate and protein source for most dogs. Commonly characterised as filler in consumer discussions, but veterinary nutrition research supports its nutritional value.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
10chicken liver flavorNamed organ meats▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Organ meat from a named animal species, with both the species and the organ identified. Published nutrition references describe named organ meats (e.g. chicken liver, beef heart) as nutrient-dense, naturally rich in vitamins A and B12, iron, copper, and folate. Where the label names only the organ (e.g. "liver"), the animal species is not identified.Sources: NRC 2006 · Nutritional composition data
11pork liver flavorNamed organ meats▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Organ meat from a named animal species, with both the species and the organ identified. Published nutrition references describe named organ meats (e.g. chicken liver, beef heart) as nutrient-dense, naturally rich in vitamins A and B12, iron, copper, and folate. Where the label names only the organ (e.g. "liver"), the animal species is not identified.Sources: NRC 2006 · Nutritional composition dataPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
12ground pecan shellsPecan shell fibre▾
● Contextual noteGround pecan shell used as an insoluble fibre and texture agent, mainly in chews and dental products. Limited nutritional value beyond fibre; functionally similar to powdered cellulose.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · Nutritional composition data
13lactic acid▾
● Standard ingredientA naturally occurring organic acid used as a preservative or pH regulator.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
14flaxseedFlaxseed / flaxseed oil▾
● Beneficial (supported)A plant-based source of omega-3 (ALA), fibre, and lignans. Note: dogs have limited ability to convert plant ALA to the more bioactive EPA/DHA found in marine sources.Sources: Bauer 2011Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
15dried beet pulpBeet pulp▾
● Beneficial (supported)A well-studied moderately fermentable fibre source associated with stool quality benefits in dogs.Sources: NRC 2006 · Fahey et al. 1990Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
16dried citrus pulp▾
● Standard ingredientA fibre source derived from citrus fruit processing.Sources: Nutritional composition data
17potassium chloride▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added potassium (mineral) supplement.
18choline chloride▾
● Standard ingredientCholine chloride: a standard added nutrient for normal cell and nerve function.
19fish oilEPA + DHA (marine-source omega-3)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Marine-source omega-3 fatty acids associated with anti-inflammatory, skin/coat health, joint support, cognitive function, and cardiac and renal support in multiple peer-reviewed studies.Sources: Bauer 2011 JAVMA · NRC 2006 · Multiple RCTs in dogs for skin/joint conditionsPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
20iodized saltSalt▾
● Contextual noteAn essential mineral present in all pet food. Flag only when appearing high on the ingredient list.Sources: NRC 2006
21dicalcium phosphateCalcium phosphates▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added calcium and phosphorus (mineral) supplement.
22calcium carbonateCalcium salts▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added calcium (mineral) supplement.
● Beneficial (supported)Contains proanthocyanidins, which some studies have associated with urinary tract health; most of that evidence comes from dogs and humans.Sources: Howell 2007Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a vitamin premix. Where the label lists the specific vitamins in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual vitamins are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
26taurineTaurine (supplemental)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Taurine supplementation is increasingly common in dog food, particularly for breeds associated with DCM susceptibility.Sources: Pion et al. 1987 · NRC 2006 · Freeman et al. 2018Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
27L-threonine▾
● Standard ingredientAn essential amino acid added as a standard supplement.
28DL-methionine▾
● Contextual noteAn essential amino acid commonly added to pet food. Also functions as a urinary acidifier (lowers urine pH). Veterinary sources note it should be used with caution in pets with kidney disease, pancreatic disease, or liver insufficiency. Not recommended for kittens.Sources: VCA Animal Hospitals · PetMD veterinary reference · NRC 2006
29L-tryptophan▾
● Standard ingredientAn essential amino acid added as a standard supplement.
30mixed tocopherols for freshnessMixed tocopherols (natural preservative)▾
● Beneficial (emerging)This product uses mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) as a preservative, which is an alternative to synthetic preservation systems.Sources: NRC 2006Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
31natural flavorsNatural flavours▾
● Contextual noteA broad AAFCO-defined category that may contain multiple unspecified compounds. Relevant for allergy-prone pets since potential allergens may not be individually listed.Sources: AAFCO 2024
32beta-carotene▾
● Beneficial (emerging)A provitamin A carotenoid and antioxidant. Some studies have explored its role in immune function and skin health in dogs. Note: cats cannot convert beta-carotene to vitamin A.Sources: Chew et al. 2000 (Journal of Nutrition)Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
Also declared on the label
Potassium0.65%guaranteed min
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Colgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition)
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Hill's? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.