Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
30 ingredients (broken into components where relevant) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1Water▾
● Standard ingredientWater used in processing; contributes to the declared moisture content.
2ChickenNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
3Pork LiverNamed organ meats▾
Show all 30 ingredients ▾
9Dried Beet PulpBeet pulp▾
● Beneficial (supported)A well-studied moderately fermentable fibre source associated with stool quality benefits in dogs.Sources: NRC 2006 · Fahey et al. 1990
10Pork PlasmaNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
This product lists 2 separate wheat derivatives (wheat, wheat flour). When listed separately, each appears lower on the ingredient list than they would if combined as a single entry.
This product lists 2 separate potato derivatives (potatoes, potato starch). When listed separately, each appears lower on the ingredient list than they would if combined as a single entry.
This product lists 2 separate rice derivatives (rice, brown rice). When listed separately, each appears lower on the ingredient list than they would if combined as a single entry.
Nutrient analysis
dry matter, the manufacturer's basis · compared to AAFCO dog growth & reproduction minimums
✓Feeding trials substantiate that this product meets AAFCO nutrient profiles (Puppy)"Animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate that Hill's Science Diet Puppy Savory Stew with Chicken & Vegetables Dog Food provides complete and balanced nutrition for growing puppies." (brand statement)
Protein29.6%AAFCO min 22.5% DM
Fat19.9%AAFCO min 8.5% DM
Fibre1.4%no AAFCO reference
851 kcal/kg≈ 356 kJ / 100g energy densityBrand states 851 kcal/kg
This manufacturer publishes its analysis on a dry-matter basis (with moisture removed), so the values above are shown on that basis and moisture is not stated. AAFCO minimums are also dry-matter figures, so they compare directly; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Hill's · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Colgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition) · 3 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2019: Global voluntary recall of canned dog food due to excess Vitamin D from supplier error. FDA warning letter. $12.5M settlement. 0 APOG consumer reports.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedAAFCO · FDA cGMP
Parent companydisclosedColgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition)
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Hill's? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Customer reviews
4.6
111 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Beneficial (well-established)Organ meat from a named animal species, with both the species and the organ identified. Published nutrition references describe named organ meats (e.g. chicken liver, beef heart) as nutrient-dense, naturally rich in vitamins A and B12, iron, copper, and folate. Where the label names only the organ (e.g. "liver"), the animal species is not identified.Sources: NRC 2006 · Nutritional composition data
4Brown RiceRice / brewer's rice▾
● Contextual noteA highly digestible carbohydrate. Brewer's rice is a milling by-product but still provides nutritional value.Sources: NRC 2006
5Wheat FlourWheat / wheat gluten▾
● Contextual noteA protein and carbohydrate source. Wheat gluten is a high-quality plant protein. Note: true gluten intolerance is uncommon in dogs compared to humans.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
6Carrots▾
● Standard ingredientA root vegetable providing beta-carotene and fibre.Sources: Nutritional composition data
● Contextual noteA concentrated starch used as a digestible carbohydrate source and binder. The source plant is often not specified, which limits traceability; named starches (e.g. potato starch) are shown under their own entries where recognised.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · EU Regulation 767/2009
8Potato StarchPotato / sweet potato▾
● Contextual noteDigestible carbohydrate sources. Not harmful in themselves. Often used in grain-free formulations.Sources: NRC 2006
11PotatoesPotato / sweet potato
▾
● Contextual noteDigestible carbohydrate sources. Not harmful in themselves. Often used in grain-free formulations.Sources: NRC 2006
12DextroseAdded sugar / sucrose▾
● Under research reviewSweetener and palatant with no nutritional purpose in pet food. Established associations with dental disease in the veterinary dental literature. May be added to increase palatability.Sources: NRC 2006 Nutrient Requirements · Veterinary dental health consensus
13Green PeasPeas / lentils / chickpeas▾
● Contextual noteWhole legumes provide protein, fibre, and micronutrients. The FDA investigated (2018-2022) a potential association with dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM) in dogs when legumes are used as a primary ingredient, did not establish a causal link, and has paused public updates pending new science.Sources: FDA DCM Investigation 2018-2022 · Freeman et al. 2018 JAVMA
14Tricalcium PhosphateCalcium phosphates▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added calcium and phosphorus (mineral) supplement.
15Chicken Liver FlavorNamed organ meats▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Organ meat from a named animal species, with both the species and the organ identified. Published nutrition references describe named organ meats (e.g. chicken liver, beef heart) as nutrient-dense, naturally rich in vitamins A and B12, iron, copper, and folate. Where the label names only the organ (e.g. "liver"), the animal species is not identified.Sources: NRC 2006 · Nutritional composition dataPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
16SpinachSpinach / kale▾
● Beneficial (emerging)Nutrient-dense leafy greens rich in vitamins K, A, C, folate, and iron. Flag for pets with history of calcium oxalate bladder stones (high oxalate content).Sources: NRC 2006Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
17Soybean Oil▾
● Contextual noteA plant-derived oil providing omega-6 fatty acids. Derived from soybeans, which are a common allergen in some pets. Relevant for allergy-prone pets.Sources: NRC 2006 · AAFCO ingredient definitions
18Calcium CarbonateCalcium salts▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added calcium (mineral) supplement.Sources: NRC 2006
19Potassium ChloridePotassium salts▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added potassium (mineral) supplement.Sources: NRC 2006
20Guar Gum▾
● Contextual noteThickener and stabiliser used in wet food. Permitted for food use by the US FDA (GRAS) at low levels. May cause digestive discomfort (gas, loose stool) at higher concentrations in some animals.Sources: EFSA 2017
21Fish OilEPA + DHA (marine-source omega-3)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Marine-source omega-3 fatty acids associated with anti-inflammatory, skin/coat health, joint support, cognitive function, and cardiac and renal support in multiple peer-reviewed studies.Sources: Bauer 2011 JAVMA · NRC 2006 · Multiple RCTs in dogs for skin/joint conditionsPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
22Choline Chloride▾
● Standard ingredientCholine chloride: a standard added nutrient for normal cell and nerve function.
23Sodium PyrophosphatePhosphate salts (misc.)▾
● Standard ingredientPhosphate salts used as mineral nutrient sources and processing aids (texture, palatant carriers), and phosphoric acid as an acidifier. Distinct from the condensed phosphates under research review (sodium tripolyphosphate, sodium hexametaphosphate), which are classified separately.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · EU Regulation 767/2009
24Disodium PhosphatePhosphate salts (misc.)▾
● Standard ingredientPhosphate salts used as mineral nutrient sources and processing aids (texture, palatant carriers), and phosphoric acid as an acidifier. Distinct from the condensed phosphates under research review (sodium tripolyphosphate, sodium hexametaphosphate), which are classified separately.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · EU Regulation 767/2009
25Sodium Hexametaphosphate▾
● Under research reviewAdded to some dental-focused kibbles for tartar control. Some concerns have been raised about kidney effects and gastrointestinal irritation at higher doses. Limited pet-specific safety studies.Sources: EFSA 2019 phosphates opinion
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a vitamin premix. Where the label lists the specific vitamins in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual vitamins are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
28L-Lysine▾
● Standard ingredientAn essential amino acid added as a standard supplement.
29TaurineTaurine (supplemental)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Taurine supplementation is increasingly common in dog food, particularly for breeds associated with DCM susceptibility.Sources: Pion et al. 1987 · NRC 2006 · Freeman et al. 2018Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
30Caramel colorCaramel colour (Class III & IV)▾
● Under research reviewContains 4-methylimidazole (4-MEI). NTP studies found 4-MEI to be carcinogenic in rodents. Listed under California Proposition 65.Sources: NTP Technical Report 535 · IARC Monograph Vol 101 · California Prop 65