Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
26 components (the label lists 23 ingredients) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1Kangaroo MealNamed species meat meal▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Rendered meal from a named animal species: a concentrated protein source with water and fat removed. The species is identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · Veterinary nutrition references
2Chicken MealNamed species meat meal▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Rendered meal from a named animal species: a concentrated protein source with water and fat removed. The species is identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · Veterinary nutrition references
3Sorghum▾
● Contextual noteAn ancient gluten-free grain used as a carbohydrate source. Provides starch and some protein.Sources: Nutritional composition data
4Field PeasPeas / lentils / chickpeas▾
● Contextual noteWhole legumes provide protein, fibre, and micronutrients. The FDA investigated (2018-2022) a potential association with dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM) in dogs when legumes are used as a primary ingredient, did not establish a causal link, and has paused public updates pending new science.Sources: FDA DCM Investigation 2018-2022 · Freeman et al. 2018 JAVMA
5Brown RiceRice / brewer's rice▾
● Contextual noteA highly digestible carbohydrate. Brewer's rice is a milling by-product but still provides nutritional value.Sources: NRC 2006
6TapiocaTapioca / tapioca starch▾
● Contextual noteA carbohydrate source that provides energy but limited micronutrients.Sources: NRC 2006
7Poultry Oil▾
● Contextual noteAn oil derived from poultry without identifying the specific bird species. Named-species oils (e.g., chicken fat) provide more traceability. Relevant for pets with specific poultry allergies.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
8ChickpeasPeas / lentils / chickpeas▾
● Contextual noteWhole legumes provide protein, fibre, and micronutrients. The FDA investigated (2018-2022) a potential association with dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM) in dogs when legumes are used as a primary ingredient, did not establish a causal link, and has paused public updates pending new science.Sources: FDA DCM Investigation 2018-2022 · Freeman et al. 2018 JAVMA
● Contextual noteA generic flavouring declaration. The label does not disclose whether the flavouring is natural or artificial, or what it is derived from.Sources: EU Regulation 767/2009
10Alfalfa▾
● Contextual noteA legume plant used as a source of fibre, protein, and micronutrients including natural vitamin K1 (an alternative to synthetic menadione/vitamin K3). As a legume, it is within the broader scope of the FDA DCM investigation, though typically included at low levels.Sources: NRC 2006 · Nutritional composition data
11
This product lists 2 separate rice derivatives (rice, brown rice). When listed separately, each appears lower on the ingredient list than they would if combined as a single entry.
Guaranteed analysis
as fed · compared to AAFCO adult dog maintenance minimums
AAFCO, the Association of American Feed Control Officials, publishes minimum nutrient levels for complete dog and cat foods. Each bar below compares this product's declared analysis to the AAFCO adult dog maintenance minimum, marked by the vertical tick.
✓Labelled complete and balanced (no recognised standard cited)
Protein23%AAFCO min 18% DM
Fat13%AAFCO min 5.5% DM
Fibre5%no AAFCO reference
Moisture10%no AAFCO reference
3,500 kcal/kg≈ 1,464 kJ / 100g energy densityBrand states 3,500 kcal/kg
Also declared on the label
Phosphorus1.1%guaranteed min
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
SavourLife · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of SunRice Group (CopRice) · 2 brands on Pawdit
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australianot confirmed
Quality certificationsnone listed
Parent companydisclosedSunRice Group (CopRice)
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you SavourLife? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Customer reviews
4.5
11 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Beneficial (well-established)Marine-source omega-3 fatty acids associated with anti-inflammatory, skin/coat health, joint support, cognitive function, and cardiac and renal support in multiple peer-reviewed studies.Sources: Bauer 2011 JAVMA · NRC 2006 · Multiple RCTs in dogs for skin/joint conditionsPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
12VitaminsVitamins (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a vitamin premix. Where the label lists the specific vitamins in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual vitamins are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
13MineralsMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
14Amino AcidsAmino acids (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for an amino acid supplement blend. Where the label lists the specific amino acids in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual amino acids are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
15LinseedFlaxseed / flaxseed oil▾
● Beneficial (supported)A plant-based source of omega-3 (ALA), fibre, and lignans. Note: dogs have limited ability to convert plant ALA to the more bioactive EPA/DHA found in marine sources.Sources: Bauer 2011Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
16Salt▾
● Contextual noteAn essential mineral present in all pet food. Flag only when appearing high on the ingredient list.Sources: NRC 2006
17Yucca Schidigera Extract▾
● Beneficial (supported)Associated with faecal odour reduction in published studies. Some research has explored anti-inflammatory properties.Sources: Lowe & Kershaw 1997Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
● Beneficial (supported)A prebiotic fibre associated with gut microbiome support in published studies. Promotes beneficial bacteria growth.Sources: Swanson et al. 2002Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
19GlucosamineGlucosamine HCL▾
● Contextual noteIncluded in many formulas for joint support. Early studies in dogs suggested cartilage support; a 2022 meta-analysis and a 2024 review found no clinical benefit for osteoarthritis pain. Quality and formulation vary across products.Sources: McCarthy et al. 2007 · Moreau et al. 2003 · Barbeau-Gregoire et al. 2022 · Pye et al. 2024
20ChondroitinChondroitin sulfate▾
● Contextual noteIncluded in many formulas for joint support, often combined with glucosamine; a 2022 meta-analysis and a 2024 review found no clinical benefit for osteoarthritis pain.Sources: McCarthy et al. 2007 · Barbeau-Gregoire et al. 2022 · Pye et al. 2024
21Tomato PomaceTomatoes▾
● Standard ingredientA fruit providing lycopene and vitamins.Sources: Nutritional composition data
22KelpKelp / seaweed meal▾
● Beneficial (supported)A natural source of iodine and trace minerals. Some studies have explored dental health benefits. Note: excessive iodine from kelp could affect thyroid function in cats with hyperthyroidism.Sources: NRC 2006Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
23CarrotCarrots▾
● Standard ingredientA root vegetable providing beta-carotene and fibre.Sources: Nutritional composition data
24Broccoli▾
● Standard ingredientA cruciferous vegetable providing vitamins and fibre.Sources: Nutritional composition data
25Blueberries▾
● Beneficial (emerging)A whole-food source of anthocyanins, associated with antioxidant properties in published research.Sources: Prior et al. 2008Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
26Natural Antioxidants (including Rosemary Extract and Green Tea)2 components▾
● Standard ingredientNatural preservation agents such as tocopherols or rosemary extract. Where the label names the agents in brackets, each is shown and classified below; 'including' wording means others may be present without being listed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own: