Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
Guaranteed analysis
as fed · compared to AAFCO adult dog maintenance minimums
AAFCO, the Association of American Feed Control Officials, publishes minimum nutrient levels for complete dog and cat foods. Each bar below compares this product's declared analysis to the AAFCO adult dog maintenance minimum, marked by the vertical tick.
✓Labelled complete and balanced (no recognised standard cited)
Protein7%AAFCO min 18% DM
Fat3.5%AAFCO min 5.5% DM
Fibre1.7%no AAFCO reference
Moisture75.3%no AAFCO reference
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Royal Canin · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Mars Petcare Australia · 14 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2020: Voluntary quarantine of a prescription diet product in AU following consumer complaints. Resolved. 0 APOG consumer reports.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedBRC · ISO 22000
Parent companydisclosed
Customer reviews
5
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
1Derivatives of vegetable origin▾
● Contextual noteA European-style labelling term for plant-derived ingredients without specifying the source plants. Limits traceability and allergen identification.Sources: EU Regulation 767/2009 · FEDIAF labelling guidelines
2vegetable protein extractsVegetable protein isolate▾
● Contextual noteA concentrated plant-based protein source. When the source plant is not specified, traceability is limited and allergen identification is difficult for sensitive pets.Sources: Nutritional composition data · AAFCO ingredient definitions
3oils and fatsOils and fats (generic)▾
● Contextual noteA generic term for oil and fat sources. Where the label names the sources in brackets, each is shown and classified below. Unnamed sources cannot be traced to an animal or plant species; named sources (e.g. chicken fat, salmon oil) provide more transparency.Sources: EU Regulation 767/2009 · AAFCO ingredient definitions
4meat and animal derivativesUnnamed meat sources▾
● Under research reviewProtein source without species identification. Terms like meat, meat meal, animal by-products or co-products, meat and bone meal, or meat and animal derivatives do not identify the animal species, which limits traceability and makes allergen avoidance difficult.Sources: AAFCO 2024 Official Publication · EU Regulation 767/2009
5mineralsMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
6hydrolysed soya protein concentrateSoy / soybean meal▾
● Contextual noteA plant-based protein source. Contains phytoestrogens (isoflavones). A common allergen in some pets.Sources: NRC 2006 · AAFCO 2024
7hydrolysed poultry by-productsPoultry (bird species not specified)▾
● Contextual noteA poultry ingredient where the bird species (chicken, turkey, duck, etc.) is not identified. Covers generic terms like poultry, poultry meal, poultry protein, and poultry by-products. Limits traceability compared to named species; treated as a possible chicken source for allergy checking.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
8pea starchPea protein / pea starch / pea fibre▾
● Contextual noteFractionated legume derivatives that can be used to increase the protein reading on a guaranteed analysis without providing a complete amino acid profile. More relevant than whole peas to the FDA's DCM investigation (2018-2022, no causal link established).Sources: FDA DCM Investigation 2018-2022
Show all 16 ingredients ▾
9Vitamin A: 3 000 IUVitamin A▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added vitamin involved in vision and immune function.
10Vitamin D3: 290 IUVitamin D3▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added vitamin involved in calcium metabolism and bone health.
11Iron: 11 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
12Iodine: 0.95 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
13Copper: 3.5 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
14Manganese: 13.9 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
15Zinc: 34 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
16clinoptilolite of sedimentary origin: 2 gClinoptilolite (zeolite)▾
● Standard ingredientA natural zeolite mineral of volcanic origin, authorised in the EU as a technological feed additive (binder and anti-caking agent). Sometimes included for stool quality. It provides no nutrients and passes through undigested.Sources: EU feed additive register (1g568/E568) · EFSA FEEDAP opinions on clinoptilolite
Mars Petcare Australia
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Royal Canin? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
23 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources