Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1Dehydrated poultry proteinPoultry (bird species not specified)▾
● Contextual noteA poultry ingredient where the bird species (chicken, turkey, duck, etc.) is not identified. Covers generic terms like poultry, poultry meal, poultry protein, and poultry by-products. Limits traceability compared to named species; treated as a possible chicken source for allergy checking.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
2animal fatsUnnamed animal fats▾
● Under research reviewGeneric animal fats without species identification. The source animal(s) cannot be confirmed, which limits traceability and is relevant for pets with food sensitivities or allergies.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · FDA CVM documentation
3riceRice / brewer's rice▾
● Contextual noteA highly digestible carbohydrate. Brewer's rice is a milling by-product but still provides nutritional value.Sources: NRC 2006
4vegetable protein isolate*Vegetable protein isolate▾
● Contextual noteA concentrated plant-based protein source. When the source plant is not specified, traceability is limited and allergen identification is difficult for sensitive pets.Sources: Nutritional composition data · AAFCO ingredient definitions
5maizeCorn / corn gluten meal▾
● Contextual noteA digestible carbohydrate and protein source for most dogs. Commonly characterised as filler in consumer discussions, but veterinary nutrition research supports its nutritional value.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
6wheat flourWheat / wheat gluten▾
● Contextual noteA protein and carbohydrate source. Wheat gluten is a high-quality plant protein. Note: true gluten intolerance is uncommon in dogs compared to humans.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
● Under research reviewGeneric animal proteins or hydrolysed animal proteins without species identification. The source animal(s) cannot be confirmed, which limits traceability.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · FDA CVM documentation
8vegetable fibres▾
● Contextual noteA generic term for plant-derived fibre sources. The specific source plant is not identified, limiting traceability.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
Show all 21 ingredients ▾
9beet pulp▾
● Beneficial (supported)A well-studied moderately fermentable fibre source associated with stool quality benefits in dogs.Sources: NRC 2006 · Fahey et al. 1990
10yeastsYeasts / yeast products (generic)▾
● Contextual noteA generic term for whole inactivated yeast or unspecified yeast-derived products (usually Saccharomyces cerevisiae). Can supply protein, B vitamins, and cell-wall fractions (MOS, beta-glucans), but the specific form and processing are not disclosed. Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · Nutritional composition data
11
This product lists 2 separate wheat derivatives (wheat, wheat flour). When listed separately, each appears lower on the ingredient list than they would if combined as a single entry.
Guaranteed analysis
as declared by the manufacturer
✓Labelled complete and balanced (no recognised standard cited)
Protein36%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
Fat23%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
Fibre2.9%no AAFCO reference
4,263 kcal/kg≈ 1,784 kJ / 100g energy densityBrand states 4,263 kcal/kg
Moisture is not declared on the label, so no dry-matter comparison against AAFCO minimums is shown.
Taurine is an essential amino acid for cats. This product does not appear to list taurine as a supplemented ingredient. You may wish to verify with the manufacturer or your vet.
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Royal Canin · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Mars Petcare Australia · 14 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2020: Voluntary quarantine of a prescription diet product in AU following consumer complaints. Resolved. 0 APOG consumer reports.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedBRC · ISO 22000
Parent companydisclosedMars Petcare Australia
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Royal Canin? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Customer reviews
4.7
47 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Beneficial (well-established)Marine-source omega-3 fatty acids associated with anti-inflammatory, skin/coat health, joint support, cognitive function, and cardiac and renal support in multiple peer-reviewed studies.Sources: Bauer 2011 JAVMA · NRC 2006 · Multiple RCTs in dogs for skin/joint conditionsPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
12soya oilSoybean oil▾
● Contextual noteA plant-derived oil providing omega-6 fatty acids. Derived from soybeans, which are a common allergen in some pets. Relevant for allergy-prone pets.Sources: NRC 2006 · AAFCO ingredient definitions
● Beneficial (supported)A prebiotic fibre associated with gut microbiome support in published studies. Promotes beneficial bacteria growth.Sources: Swanson et al. 2002Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
14mineralsMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
15psyllium husksPsyllium husk▾
● Beneficial (emerging)A soluble fibre source used by veterinarians for digestive support. Evidence in dogs and cats comes mostly from clinical practice and small studies.Sources: NRC 2006Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
16seedsSeeds (generic/unspecified)▾
● Contextual noteA generic seed declaration. Where the label names the seeds in brackets, each is shown and classified below. Unnamed seeds limit traceability and allergen assessment.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
17hydrolysed yeast (source of manno-oligo-saccharides)1 components▾
● Contextual noteThe soluble fraction of yeast, used as a savoury flavour enhancer and a natural source of free glutamate. Distinct from added MSG, and from yeast cell wall fractions (the source of MOS); autolysed and hydrolysed yeast are closely related yeast-derived flavour ingredients grouped here. Also supplies B vitamins and amino acids.Sources: EFSA 2017 glutamate re-evaluation
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
18borage oil▾
● Beneficial (emerging)A plant-derived oil containing the highest natural concentration of gamma-linolenic acid (GLA), an omega-6 fatty acid. Some veterinary-reviewed research has associated GLA with skin health and anti-inflammatory support in dogs.Sources: Nutritional composition data · Veterinary dermatology referencesPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
19marigold extract (source of lutein)▾
● Beneficial (emerging)Marigold extract is a natural source of lutein, a carotenoid antioxidant. Some studies have explored lutein for eye health and immune function support in dogs and cats.Sources: Kim et al. 2000 (Journal of Nutrition) · Nutritional composition dataPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
20hydrolysed crustaceans (source of glucosamine)Glucosamine HCL▾
● Contextual noteIncluded in many formulas for joint support. Early studies in dogs suggested cartilage support; a 2022 meta-analysis and a 2024 review found no clinical benefit for osteoarthritis pain. Quality and formulation vary across products.Sources: McCarthy et al. 2007 · Moreau et al. 2003 · Barbeau-Gregoire et al. 2022 · Pye et al. 2024
21hydrolysed cartilage (source of chondroitin)Chondroitin sulfate▾
● Contextual noteIncluded in many formulas for joint support, often combined with glucosamine; a 2022 meta-analysis and a 2024 review found no clinical benefit for osteoarthritis pain.Sources: McCarthy et al. 2007 · Barbeau-Gregoire et al. 2022 · Pye et al. 2024