Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
25 ingredients (broken into components where relevant) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1Dehydrated Australian PoultryPoultry (bird species not specified)▾
● Contextual noteA poultry ingredient where the bird species (chicken, turkey, duck, etc.) is not identified. Covers generic terms like poultry, poultry meal, poultry protein, and poultry by-products. Limits traceability compared to named species; treated as a possible chicken source for allergy checking.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
2PeasPeas / lentils / chickpeas▾
● Contextual noteWhole legumes provide protein, fibre, and micronutrients. The FDA investigated (2018-2022) a potential association with dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM) in dogs when legumes are used as a primary ingredient, did not establish a causal link, and has paused public updates pending new science.Sources: FDA DCM Investigation 2018-2022 · Freeman et al. 2018 JAVMA
Show all 25 ingredients ▾
9Digest (Beef, Chicken)2 components▾
● Contextual noteHydrolysed animal tissue used as a flavour coating. Source animal is usually unspecified. Named digest (e.g., chicken digest) provides more traceability than generic animal digest.Sources: AAFCO 2024
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
10
This product lists 2 separate pea derivatives (peas, pea protein). When listed separately, each appears lower on the ingredient list than they would if combined as a single entry.
Guaranteed analysis
as declared by the manufacturer
✓Brand statement cites AAFCO nutrient profiles (Adult)"Meets the AAFCO nutritional guidelines for Adult Maintenance" (brand statement)
Protein35%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
Fat14%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
Fibre5%no AAFCO reference
3,600 kcal/kg≈ 1,506 kJ / 100g energy densityBrand states 360 kcal/100g
Also declared on the label
Omega-3 (total)0.5%guaranteed min
Moisture is not declared on the label, so no dry-matter comparison against AAFCO minimums is shown.
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Ivory Coat · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Real Pet Food Company · 9 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon recordNo formal recalls. 52 APOG consumer reports (highest on APOG). Reports of vomiting and diarrhoea increased after manufacturer/ownership change.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardconfirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedAS5812 · HACCP
Parent companydisclosedReal Pet Food Company
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Ivory Coat? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Contextual noteFractionated legume derivatives that can be used to increase the protein reading on a guaranteed analysis without providing a complete amino acid profile. More relevant than whole peas to the FDA's DCM investigation (2018-2022, no causal link established).Sources: FDA DCM Investigation 2018-2022
4Sweet PotatoPotato / sweet potato▾
● Contextual noteDigestible carbohydrate sources. Not harmful in themselves. Often used in grain-free formulations.Sources: NRC 2006
5Dehydrated Australian BeefNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
6TapiocaTapioca / tapioca starch▾
● Contextual noteA carbohydrate source that provides energy but limited micronutrients.Sources: NRC 2006
7Chicken Fat▾
● Standard ingredientA named animal fat source providing energy and essential fatty acids.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
8LentilsPeas / lentils / chickpeas▾
● Contextual noteWhole legumes provide protein, fibre, and micronutrients. The FDA investigated (2018-2022) a potential association with dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM) in dogs when legumes are used as a primary ingredient, did not establish a causal link, and has paused public updates pending new science.Sources: FDA DCM Investigation 2018-2022 · Freeman et al. 2018 JAVMA
Beet Pulp
▾
● Beneficial (supported)A well-studied moderately fermentable fibre source associated with stool quality benefits in dogs.Sources: NRC 2006 · Fahey et al. 1990
11Dehydrated Australian KangarooNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studiesPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
12Cellulose FibreCellulose / powdered cellulose▾
● Under research reviewA plant-derived insoluble fibre. Provides bulk but limited nutritional value. Acceptable in small amounts; when present as a primary fibre source (top 10 ingredients), it may indicate a high proportion of nutritionally inert filler.Sources: NRC 2006 Nutrient Requirements · Nutritional composition data
13Salmon OilEPA + DHA (marine-source omega-3)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Marine-source omega-3 fatty acids associated with anti-inflammatory, skin/coat health, joint support, cognitive function, and cardiac and renal support in multiple peer-reviewed studies.Sources: Bauer 2011 JAVMA · NRC 2006 · Multiple RCTs in dogs for skin/joint conditionsPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
14LinseedFlaxseed / flaxseed oil▾
● Contextual noteCats have negligible ability to convert plant-based ALA to the bioactive EPA and DHA forms. Flaxseed provides no meaningful omega-3 benefit for cats. Marine sources are required.Sources: Bauer 2011
15Canola Oil▾
● Contextual noteA refined vegetable oil used as a fat source in pet food. Modern canola contains very low erucic acid (<2%) and provides omega-6 and some omega-3 (ALA) fatty acids. The refining process (bleaching, deodorising) removes some naturally occurring compounds. It is permitted for food use by the US FDA (GRAS).Sources: FDA GRAS status · Nutritional composition data
16Salt▾
● Contextual noteAn essential mineral present in all pet food. Flag only when appearing high on the ingredient list.Sources: NRC 2006
17Potassium ChloridePotassium salts▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added potassium (mineral) supplement.Sources: NRC 2006
18Choline Chloride▾
● Standard ingredientCholine chloride: a standard added nutrient for normal cell and nerve function.
19TaurineTaurine (supplemental)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Taurine is an essential amino acid for cats. Deficiency can cause serious health consequences including dilated cardiomyopathy, central retinal degeneration, and reproductive failure.Sources: Pion et al. 1987 · NRC 2006 · Freeman et al. 2018Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
20MethionineDL-methionine▾
● Contextual noteAn essential amino acid commonly added to pet food. Also functions as a urinary acidifier (lowers urine pH). Veterinary sources note it should be used with caution in pets with kidney disease, pancreatic disease, or liver insufficiency. Not recommended for kittens.Sources: VCA Animal Hospitals · PetMD veterinary reference · NRC 2006
● Beneficial (supported)A prebiotic fibre associated with gut microbiome support in published studies. Promotes beneficial bacteria growth.Sources: Swanson et al. 2002Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
22Vitamins and MineralsMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
● Standard ingredientA marketing name for a blend of fruits, vegetables, and botanicals. Where the label lists the blend's contents in brackets, each is shown and classified below. The term itself is not a defined ingredient category.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
● Standard ingredientNatural preservation agents such as tocopherols or rosemary extract. Where the label names the agents in brackets, each is shown and classified below; 'including' wording means others may be present without being listed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
25Yucca Schidigera Extract▾
● Beneficial (supported)Associated with faecal odour reduction in published studies. Some research has explored anti-inflammatory properties.Sources: Lowe & Kershaw 1997Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.