Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
2oats▾
● Contextual noteA whole grain carbohydrate source rich in soluble fibre (beta-glucans). Generally well-tolerated and considered a high-quality grain for pets.Sources: Veterinary nutrition references
● Standard ingredientA flavouring agent derived from a named animal species, providing more traceability than generic natural flavours. Note: chicken digest and similar named digests are relevant for allergen matching (a pet with chicken allergy should be flagged).Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
10essential vitaminsVitamins (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a vitamin premix. Where the label lists the specific vitamins in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual vitamins are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
Guaranteed analysis
as fed · compared to AAFCO adult dog maintenance minimums
AAFCO, the Association of American Feed Control Officials, publishes minimum nutrient levels for complete dog and cat foods. Each bar below compares this product's declared analysis to the AAFCO adult dog maintenance minimum, marked by the vertical tick.
✓Formulated to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles"Black Hawk Healthy Benefits Dental is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO) Dog Food Nutrient Profile for maintenance." (brand statement)
Protein28%AAFCO min 18% DM
Fat17%AAFCO min 5.5% DM
Fibre8%no AAFCO reference
Moisture10%no AAFCO reference
3,670 kcal/kg≈ 1,536 kJ / 100g energy density
Also declared on the label
Phosphorus0.7%guaranteed min
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Black Hawk · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of EBOS Group (Masterpet) · 2 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2019: Voluntary recall of Grain Free Salmon dog food due to contaminated salmon causing GI issues. 6 APOG consumer reports.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedHACCP
Parent companydisclosedEBOS Group (Masterpet)
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Black Hawk? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Customer reviews
4.8
86 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Contextual noteWhole legumes provide protein, fibre, and micronutrients. The FDA investigated (2018-2022) a potential association with dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM) in dogs when legumes are used as a primary ingredient, did not establish a causal link, and has paused public updates pending new science.Sources: FDA DCM Investigation 2018-2022 · Freeman et al. 2018 JAVMA
4chicken fat (preserved with natural antioxidants)1 components▾
● Standard ingredientA named animal fat source providing energy and essential fatty acids.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
5riceRice / brewer's rice▾
● Contextual noteA highly digestible carbohydrate. Brewer's rice is a milling by-product but still provides nutritional value.Sources: NRC 2006
6chickpeasPeas / lentils / chickpeas▾
● Contextual noteWhole legumes provide protein, fibre, and micronutrients. The FDA investigated (2018-2022) a potential association with dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM) in dogs when legumes are used as a primary ingredient, did not establish a causal link, and has paused public updates pending new science.Sources: FDA DCM Investigation 2018-2022 · Freeman et al. 2018 JAVMA
7faba beans▾
● Contextual noteA legume protein and carbohydrate source. As a legume, it falls within the scope of the FDA investigation into a potential association between legume-heavy grain-free diets and DCM in dogs. Research is ongoing.Sources: FDA DCM Investigation 2018-present · Nutritional composition data
8plant celluloseCellulose / powdered cellulose▾
● Under research reviewA plant-derived insoluble fibre. Provides bulk but limited nutritional value. Acceptable in small amounts; when present as a primary fibre source (top 10 ingredients), it may indicate a high proportion of nutritionally inert filler.Sources: NRC 2006 Nutrient Requirements · Nutritional composition data
11mineralsMinerals (generic)
▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
12and amino acids (see table)Amino acids (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for an amino acid supplement blend. Where the label lists the specific amino acids in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual amino acids are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
13lactic acid▾
● Standard ingredientA naturally occurring organic acid used as a preservative or pH regulator.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
14fish oilEPA + DHA (marine-source omega-3)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Marine-source omega-3 fatty acids associated with anti-inflammatory, skin/coat health, joint support, cognitive function, and cardiac and renal support in multiple peer-reviewed studies.Sources: Bauer 2011 JAVMA · NRC 2006 · Multiple RCTs in dogs for skin/joint conditionsPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studiesPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
16sweet potatoPotato / sweet potato▾
● Contextual noteDigestible carbohydrate sources. Not harmful in themselves. Often used in grain-free formulations.Sources: NRC 2006
17carrot fibreCarrots▾
● Standard ingredientA root vegetable providing beta-carotene and fibre.Sources: Nutritional composition data
● Contextual noteThe soluble fraction of yeast, used as a savoury flavour enhancer and a natural source of free glutamate. Distinct from added MSG, and from yeast cell wall fractions (the source of MOS); autolysed and hydrolysed yeast are closely related yeast-derived flavour ingredients grouped here. Also supplies B vitamins and amino acids.Sources: EFSA 2017 glutamate re-evaluation
19sea kelpKelp / seaweed meal▾
● Beneficial (supported)A natural source of iodine and trace minerals. Some studies have explored dental health benefits. Note: excessive iodine from kelp could affect thyroid function in cats with hyperthyroidism.Sources: NRC 2006Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
20vitamin CVitamin C as preservative▾
● Beneficial (emerging)This product uses vitamin C (ascorbic acid or ascorbyl palmitate) as part of its preservation system.Sources: NRC 2006Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
● Beneficial (supported)A chelated zinc form associated with better bioavailability and skin/coat health benefits.Sources: NRC 2006Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
22tomatoTomatoes▾
● Standard ingredientA fruit providing lycopene and vitamins.Sources: Nutritional composition data
23coconut oilCoconut oil / MCT oil▾
● Beneficial (supported)MCT oil is rich in the medium-chain triglycerides (C8 and C10) used in studies of cognitive support in aging dogs. Coconut oil contains some MCTs but is mostly lauric acid, so those findings apply mainly to purified MCT oil.Sources: Pan et al. 2010Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
24emu oil▾
● Beneficial (emerging)An Australian-sourced oil containing a mix of omega-6 and omega-9 fatty acids. Some preliminary research has explored anti-inflammatory and skin health properties.Sources: Australian ingredient research · Nutritional composition dataPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
25D-glucosamineGlucosamine HCL▾
● Contextual noteIncluded in many formulas for joint support. Early studies in dogs suggested cartilage support; a 2022 meta-analysis and a 2024 review found no clinical benefit for osteoarthritis pain. Quality and formulation vary across products.Sources: McCarthy et al. 2007 · Moreau et al. 2003 · Barbeau-Gregoire et al. 2022 · Pye et al. 2024
26selenium yeastSelenium sources▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added selenium (mineral) supplement.
27Yucca schidigera extract▾
● Beneficial (supported)Associated with faecal odour reduction in published studies. Some research has explored anti-inflammatory properties.Sources: Lowe & Kershaw 1997Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
28blueberries▾
● Beneficial (emerging)A whole-food source of anthocyanins, associated with antioxidant properties in published research.Sources: Prior et al. 2008Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
29carrots▾
● Standard ingredientA root vegetable providing beta-carotene and fibre.Sources: Nutritional composition data
30cranberriesCranberry / cranberry extract▾
● Beneficial (supported)Contains proanthocyanidins, which some studies have associated with urinary tract health; most of that evidence comes from dogs and humans.Sources: Howell 2007Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
31peppermint▾
● Standard ingredientA herb sometimes included for flavour or as a breath freshener.Sources: Nutritional composition data
32pumpkin seedsPumpkin▾
● Beneficial (supported)A source of soluble fibre widely recommended by veterinarians for digestive support.Sources: NRC 2006 · Veterinary digestive health referencesPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
33dandelion▾
● Standard ingredientA herb sometimes included in pet food formulations.Sources: Herbal references
34and rosemary.Rosemary / rosemary extract▾
● Contextual noteGenerally regarded as a positive natural preservative alternative to synthetic options. No published study links food-grade rosemary extract to seizures in dogs; the reported concern involves concentrated rosemary essential oil, a different preparation.Sources: Goncalves et al. 2019 · Essential oils and seizure systematic review 2019