Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
30 components (the label lists 28 ingredients) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1RiceRice / brewer's rice▾
● Contextual noteA highly digestible carbohydrate. Brewer's rice is a milling by-product but still provides nutritional value.Sources: NRC 2006
2wheat gluten*Wheat / wheat gluten▾
● Contextual noteA protein and carbohydrate source. Wheat gluten is a high-quality plant protein. Note: true gluten intolerance is uncommon in dogs compared to humans.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
3wheatWheat / wheat gluten▾
Show all 30 components ▾
9mineralsMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
10soya oilSoybean oil▾
● Contextual noteA plant-derived oil providing omega-6 fatty acids. Derived from soybeans, which are a common allergen in some pets. Relevant for allergy-prone pets.Sources: NRC 2006 · AAFCO ingredient definitions
Guaranteed analysis
as declared by the manufacturer
✓Labelled complete and balanced (no recognised standard cited)
Protein26%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
Moisture is not declared on the label, so no dry-matter comparison against AAFCO minimums is shown.
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Royal Canin · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Mars Petcare Australia · 14 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2020: Voluntary quarantine of a prescription diet product in AU following consumer complaints. Resolved. 0 APOG consumer reports.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedBRC · ISO 22000
Parent companydisclosedMars Petcare Australia
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Royal Canin? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Customer reviews
4.6
44 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Contextual noteA protein and carbohydrate source. Wheat gluten is a high-quality plant protein. Note: true gluten intolerance is uncommon in dogs compared to humans.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
4animal fatsUnnamed animal fats▾
● Under research reviewGeneric animal fats without species identification. The source animal(s) cannot be confirmed, which limits traceability and is relevant for pets with food sensitivities or allergies.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · FDA CVM documentation
5maize glutenCorn / corn gluten meal▾
● Contextual noteA digestible carbohydrate and protein source for most dogs. Commonly characterised as filler in consumer discussions, but veterinary nutrition research supports its nutritional value.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
6dehusked oatsOats▾
● Contextual noteA whole grain carbohydrate source rich in soluble fibre (beta-glucans). Generally well-tolerated and considered a high-quality grain for pets.Sources: Veterinary nutrition references
7maizeCorn / corn gluten meal▾
● Contextual noteA digestible carbohydrate and protein source for most dogs. Commonly characterised as filler in consumer discussions, but veterinary nutrition research supports its nutritional value.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
● Under research reviewGeneric animal proteins or hydrolysed animal proteins without species identification. The source animal(s) cannot be confirmed, which limits traceability.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · FDA CVM documentation
11beet pulp
▾
● Beneficial (supported)A well-studied moderately fermentable fibre source associated with stool quality benefits in dogs.Sources: NRC 2006 · Fahey et al. 1990Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
12fish oilEPA + DHA (marine-source omega-3)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Marine-source omega-3 fatty acids associated with anti-inflammatory, skin/coat health, joint support, cognitive function, and cardiac and renal support in multiple peer-reviewed studies.Sources: Bauer 2011 JAVMA · NRC 2006 · Multiple RCTs in dogs for skin/joint conditionsPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
13linseedFlaxseed / flaxseed oil▾
● Beneficial (supported)A plant-based source of omega-3 (ALA), fibre, and lignans. Note: dogs have limited ability to convert plant ALA to the more bioactive EPA/DHA found in marine sources.Sources: Bauer 2011Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
● Beneficial (supported)A prebiotic fibre associated with gut microbiome support in published studies. Promotes beneficial bacteria growth.Sources: Swanson et al. 2002Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
15mono-
16diglycerides of palmitic
17stearic acids esterified with citric acidCitric acid▾
● Standard ingredientA naturally occurring organic acid used as a preservative and antioxidant.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
18borage oil▾
● Beneficial (emerging)A plant-derived oil containing the highest natural concentration of gamma-linolenic acid (GLA), an omega-6 fatty acid. Some veterinary-reviewed research has associated GLA with skin health and anti-inflammatory support in dogs.Sources: Nutritional composition data · Veterinary dermatology referencesPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
19marigold mealMarigold extract (source of lutein)▾
● Beneficial (emerging)Marigold extract is a natural source of lutein, a carotenoid antioxidant. Some studies have explored lutein for eye health and immune function support in dogs and cats.Sources: Kim et al. 2000 (Journal of Nutrition) · Nutritional composition dataPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
20Vitamin A: 29000 IUVitamin A▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added vitamin involved in vision and immune function.
21Vitamin D3: 800 IUVitamin D3▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added vitamin involved in calcium metabolism and bone health.
22Iron: 67 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
23Iodine: 5.4 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
24Copper: 13 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
25Manganese: 66 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
26Zinc: 146 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
27Selenium: 0.17 mgSelenium sources▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added selenium (mineral) supplement.
28Clinoptilolite of sedimentary originClinoptilolite (zeolite)▾
● Standard ingredientA natural zeolite mineral of volcanic origin, authorised in the EU as a technological feed additive (binder and anti-caking agent). Sometimes included for stool quality. It provides no nutrients and passes through undigested.Sources: EU feed additive register (1g568/E568) · EFSA FEEDAP opinions on clinoptilolite
● Contextual noteA preservative declaration. Where the label names the specific agents in brackets, each is shown and classified below. Where no agent is named, it is not possible to tell whether a natural system or a synthetic antioxidant under research review is present.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · EU Regulation 767/2009
30AntioxidantsAntioxidants (generic/undisclosed)▾
● Contextual noteA generic antioxidant declaration. On EU and Australian labels, antioxidants is the additive class name and does not disclose which compound is used: it may be a natural form (tocopherols, rosemary extract) or a synthetic one (BHA, BHT, TBHQ, ethoxyquin). The specific antioxidant cannot be confirmed from the label.Sources: EU Regulation 767/2009 · AS 5812 (Australian Standard for pet food)