Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
17 components (the label lists 16 ingredients) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1Dehydrated poultry proteinPoultry (bird species not specified)▾
● Contextual noteA poultry ingredient where the bird species (chicken, turkey, duck, etc.) is not identified. Covers generic terms like poultry, poultry meal, poultry protein, and poultry by-products. Limits traceability compared to named species; treated as a possible chicken source for allergy checking.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
2maizeCorn / corn gluten meal▾
● Contextual noteA digestible carbohydrate and protein source for most dogs. Commonly characterised as filler in consumer discussions, but veterinary nutrition research supports its nutritional value.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
3
Show all 17 components ▾
9chicory pulpChicory▾
● Standard ingredientThe whole chicory plant or its pulp, distinct from chicory root extract (a prebiotic FOS source).Sources: Nutritional composition data
10fish oilEPA + DHA (marine-source omega-3)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Marine-source omega-3 fatty acids associated with anti-inflammatory, skin/coat health, joint support, cognitive function, and cardiac and renal support in multiple peer-reviewed studies.Sources: Bauer 2011 JAVMA · NRC 2006 · Multiple RCTs in dogs for skin/joint conditions
Guaranteed analysis
as declared by the manufacturer
✓Labelled complete and balanced (no recognised standard cited)
Protein25%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
Fat14%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
Fibre1.4%no AAFCO reference
3,806 kcal/kg≈ 1,592 kJ / 100g energy densityBrand states 3,806 kcal/kg
Moisture is not declared on the label, so no dry-matter comparison against AAFCO minimums is shown.
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Royal Canin · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Mars Petcare Australia · 14 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2020: Voluntary quarantine of a prescription diet product in AU following consumer complaints. Resolved. 0 APOG consumer reports.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedBRC · ISO 22000
Parent companydisclosedMars Petcare Australia
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Royal Canin? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Contextual noteA highly digestible carbohydrate. Brewer's rice is a milling by-product but still provides nutritional value.Sources: NRC 2006
4wheatWheat / wheat gluten▾
● Contextual noteA protein and carbohydrate source. Wheat gluten is a high-quality plant protein. Note: true gluten intolerance is uncommon in dogs compared to humans.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
● Under research reviewGeneric animal proteins or hydrolysed animal proteins without species identification. The source animal(s) cannot be confirmed, which limits traceability.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · FDA CVM documentation
6mineralsMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
7soya oilSoybean oil▾
● Contextual noteA plant-derived oil providing omega-6 fatty acids. Derived from soybeans, which are a common allergen in some pets. Relevant for allergy-prone pets.Sources: NRC 2006 · AAFCO ingredient definitions
8animal fatUnnamed animal fats▾
● Under research reviewGeneric animal fats without species identification. The source animal(s) cannot be confirmed, which limits traceability and is relevant for pets with food sensitivities or allergies.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · FDA CVM documentation
● Beneficial (supported)A prebiotic fibre associated with gut microbiome support in published studies. Promotes beneficial bacteria growth.Sources: Swanson et al. 2002Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
12borage oil▾
● Beneficial (emerging)A plant-derived oil containing the highest natural concentration of gamma-linolenic acid (GLA), an omega-6 fatty acid. Some veterinary-reviewed research has associated GLA with skin health and anti-inflammatory support in dogs.Sources: Nutritional composition data · Veterinary dermatology referencesPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
13psyllium husksPsyllium husk▾
● Beneficial (emerging)A soluble fibre source used by veterinarians for digestive support. Evidence in dogs and cats comes mostly from clinical practice and small studies.Sources: NRC 2006Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
14seedsSeeds (generic/unspecified)▾
● Contextual noteA generic seed declaration. Where the label names the seeds in brackets, each is shown and classified below. Unnamed seeds limit traceability and allergen assessment.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
15turmeric extractTurmeric / curcumin▾
● Beneficial (emerging)Curcumin has well-documented anti-inflammatory properties in laboratory studies, but its bioavailability in standard oral forms is poor without specific enhancement (piperine, lipid carrier, or phytosomal formulation). In several randomised controlled trials in dogs and cats with osteoarthritis, diets and supplements containing bioavailability-enhanced curcumin (for example phosphatidylcholine/phytosome complexes), usually combined with other ingredients such as omega-3 fatty acids, hydrolysed collagen or green-lipped mussel, were associated with owner- and veterinarian-reported improvements in pain and mobility (e.g. Comblain et al., 2017); objective gait measures were often unchanged, and these effects have not been demonstrated for the small amounts of plain turmeric found in most foods.Sources: Colitti et al. 2012 · Comblain et al., BMC Veterinary Research 2017, DOI 10.1186/s12917-017-1317-8 · Feline osteoarthritis diet with EPA/DHA, turmeric extract and hydrolysed collagen, Animals 2024;14(22):3298 · Moreau et al., Veterinary Record 2003;152(11):323 (counter-evidence: curcumin nutraceutical did not improve objective gait vs NSAIDs) · Pye et al., Journal of Small Animal Practice 2024 (review)Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
16marigold mealMarigold extract (source of lutein)▾
● Beneficial (emerging)Marigold extract is a natural source of lutein, a carotenoid antioxidant. Some studies have explored lutein for eye health and immune function support in dogs and cats.Sources: Kim et al. 2000 (Journal of Nutrition) · Nutritional composition dataPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.