Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
16 components (the label lists 15 ingredients) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1ChickenNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
2SalmonNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
● Standard ingredientA marketing name for a blend of fruits, vegetables, and botanicals. Where the label lists the blend's contents in brackets, each is shown and classified below. The term itself is not a defined ingredient category.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
Guaranteed analysis
as declared by the manufacturer
✓Labelled complete and balanced (no recognised standard cited)
Protein8%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
Fat7.5%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
1,250 kcal/kg≈ 523 kJ / 100g energy density
Moisture is not declared on the label, so no dry-matter comparison against AAFCO minimums is shown.
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Pure Life · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Pure Life Pet Food
Recall historyon recordNo formal recalls.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australianot confirmed
Quality certificationsnone listed
Parent companydisclosedPure Life Pet Food
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Pure Life? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
4Chicory▾
● Standard ingredientThe whole chicory plant or its pulp, distinct from chicory root extract (a prebiotic FOS source).Sources: Nutritional composition data
5Gelling Agents (Cassia Gum, Guar Gum, Carrageenan)3 components · 1 under research review▾
● Contextual noteA generic term for substances used to create gel-like textures in wet food. The specific gelling agent(s) are not identified, limiting traceability. Common gelling agents include carrageenan, agar, and various gums.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
Carrageenan: Thickener and stabiliser used in wet food. Some animal studies have associated degraded forms with gastrointestinal inflammation. Food-grade carrageenan may contain degraded fractions. Some premium brands have voluntarily removed it.Sources: Tobacman 2001 review · EFSA 2018 re-evaluation · Martino et al. 2017 · Chassaing et al. 2015
6Amino Acids (Glycine, Methionine)1 components▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for an amino acid supplement blend. Where the label lists the specific amino acids in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual amino acids are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
7FlavoursFlavours (generic/undisclosed)▾
● Contextual noteA generic flavouring declaration. The label does not disclose whether the flavouring is natural or artificial, or what it is derived from.Sources: EU Regulation 767/2009
8VegetableVegetables (generic)▾
● Contextual noteA generic term for vegetable ingredients. Where the label names the vegetables in brackets, each is shown and classified below; 'including' wording means others may be present without being listed. Unnamed vegetables limit traceability and allergen assessment.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
10Sunflower Oil▾
● Standard ingredientA named plant oil providing energy and fatty acids.
11Flaxseed OilFlaxseed / flaxseed oil▾
● Beneficial (supported)A plant-based source of omega-3 (ALA), fibre, and lignans. Note: dogs have limited ability to convert plant ALA to the more bioactive EPA/DHA found in marine sources.Sources: Bauer 2011Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
12Yucca ExtractYucca schidigera extract▾
● Beneficial (supported)Associated with faecal odour reduction in published studies. Some research has explored anti-inflammatory properties.Sources: Lowe & Kershaw 1997Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
13RosemaryRosemary / rosemary extract▾
● Contextual noteGenerally regarded as a positive natural preservative alternative to synthetic options. No published study links food-grade rosemary extract to seizures in dogs; the reported concern involves concentrated rosemary essential oil, a different preparation.Sources: Goncalves et al. 2019 · Essential oils and seizure systematic review 2019
14Parsley▾
● Standard ingredientA herb providing small amounts of vitamins and minerals.Sources: Nutritional composition data
15TurmericTurmeric / curcumin▾
● Beneficial (emerging)Curcumin has well-documented anti-inflammatory properties in laboratory studies, but its bioavailability in standard oral forms is poor without specific enhancement (piperine, lipid carrier, or phytosomal formulation). In several randomised controlled trials in dogs and cats with osteoarthritis, diets and supplements containing bioavailability-enhanced curcumin (for example phosphatidylcholine/phytosome complexes), usually combined with other ingredients such as omega-3 fatty acids, hydrolysed collagen or green-lipped mussel, were associated with owner- and veterinarian-reported improvements in pain and mobility (e.g. Comblain et al., 2017); objective gait measures were often unchanged, and these effects have not been demonstrated for the small amounts of plain turmeric found in most foods.Sources: Colitti et al. 2012 · Comblain et al., BMC Veterinary Research 2017, DOI 10.1186/s12917-017-1317-8 · Feline osteoarthritis diet with EPA/DHA, turmeric extract and hydrolysed collagen, Animals 2024;14(22):3298 · Moreau et al., Veterinary Record 2003;152(11):323 (counter-evidence: curcumin nutraceutical did not improve objective gait vs NSAIDs) · Pye et al., Journal of Small Animal Practice 2024 (review)Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
16Green Tea ExtractTea extract▾
● Beneficial (emerging)An extract from tea leaves (typically green tea) providing polyphenols and catechins (particularly EGCG) with well-documented antioxidant properties. Some studies have explored benefits for oral health and antioxidant status in dogs.Sources: Green tea catechin antioxidant studies · Veterinary oral health researchPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.