Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
17 ingredients (broken into components where relevant) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1TunaNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
2Tuna BrothNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
Show all 17 ingredients ▾
9Guar Gum▾
● Contextual noteThickener and stabiliser used in wet food. Permitted for food use by the US FDA (GRAS) at low levels. May cause digestive discomfort (gas, loose stool) at higher concentrations in some animals.Sources: EFSA 2017
10Tricalcium PhosphateCalcium phosphates▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added calcium and phosphorus (mineral) supplement.
11TaurineTaurine (supplemental)
Guaranteed analysis
as fed · compared to AAFCO adult cat maintenance minimums
AAFCO, the Association of American Feed Control Officials, publishes minimum nutrient levels for complete dog and cat foods. Each bar below compares this product's declared analysis to the AAFCO adult cat maintenance minimum, marked by the vertical tick.
✓Formulated to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles (maintenance)"Wellness CORE Signature Selects Flaked Skipjack Tuna & Shrimp Entrée in Broth is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance." (brand statement)
Protein10%AAFCO min 26% DM
Fat3%AAFCO min 9% DM
Fibre1%no AAFCO reference
Moisture85%no AAFCO reference
867 kcal/kg≈ 363 kJ / 100g energy densityBrand states 867 kcal/kg
Also declared on the label
Ash2%guaranteed maxMagnesium0.025%guaranteed maxTaurine0.05%guaranteed min
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Wellness · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Wellness Pet Company (Clearlake Capital) · 3 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2012: Limited recall of specific wet dog food lots (US). No AU-specific recalls.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australianot confirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedSQF
Parent companydisclosedWellness Pet Company (Clearlake Capital)
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Wellness? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Customer reviews
4.6
9 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources
What owners mention most: Customers praise the quality and taste of the food.
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Standard ingredientWater used in processing; contributes to the declared moisture content.
4MackerelNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
5ShrimpNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
6Tapioca StarchTapioca / tapioca starch▾
● Contextual noteA carbohydrate source that provides energy but limited micronutrients.Sources: NRC 2006
7Sunflower Oil▾
● Standard ingredientA named plant oil providing energy and fatty acids.
8Natural FlavorNatural flavours▾
● Contextual noteA broad AAFCO-defined category that may contain multiple unspecified compounds. Relevant for allergy-prone pets since potential allergens may not be individually listed.Sources: AAFCO 2024
▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Taurine is an essential amino acid for cats. Deficiency can cause serious health consequences including dilated cardiomyopathy, central retinal degeneration, and reproductive failure.Sources: Pion et al. 1987 · NRC 2006 · Freeman et al. 2018Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
12Magnesium SulfateMagnesium salts▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added magnesium (mineral) supplement.Sources: NRC 2006
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a vitamin premix. Where the label lists the specific vitamins in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual vitamins are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
14Potassium ChloridePotassium salts▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added potassium (mineral) supplement.Sources: NRC 2006
15Choline Chloride▾
● Standard ingredientCholine chloride: a standard added nutrient for normal cell and nerve function.
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
● Under research reviewA synthetic form of vitamin K that is not authorised for human food or supplement use in the US or EU, with organ effects reported at high doses. Natural alternatives (K1, K2) are available. AAFCO panel found it acceptable in pet food at approved levels.Sources: EFSA 2014 vitamin K opinion · EU Directive 2002/46/EC · AAFCO expert panel review