29 ingredients (broken into components where relevant) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
Guaranteed analysis
as fed · compared to AAFCO adult dog maintenance minimums
AAFCO, the Association of American Feed Control Officials, publishes minimum nutrient levels for complete dog and cat foods. Each bar below compares this product's declared analysis to the AAFCO adult dog maintenance minimum, marked by the vertical tick.
✓Labelled complete and balanced (no recognised standard cited)
Protein4%AAFCO min 18% DM
Fat2.5%AAFCO min 5.5% DM
Fibre2.5%no AAFCO reference
Moisture84%no AAFCO reference
787 kcal/kg≈ 329 kJ / 100g energy density
Brand transparency
Hill's · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Colgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition) · 3 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2019: Global voluntary recall of canned dog food due to excess Vitamin D from supplier error. FDA warning letter. $12.5M settlement. 0 APOG consumer reports.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedAAFCO · FDA cGMP
Parent company
Customer reviews
4.8
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
1 source · prices re-checked 18 days ago
1Beef BrothNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
2BeefNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
3Red Bell PepperRed bell pepper (capsicum)▾
● Standard ingredientRed bell pepper (sweet capsicum) is a mild, water-rich fruit-vegetable notable for a high vitamin C content and carotenoid pigments including beta-carotene and capsanthin. Sweet capsicum contains negligible capsaicin (unlike chillies); the seeds and stalk are usually removed before feeding.Sources: Nutritional composition data
4Carrots▾
● Standard ingredientA root vegetable providing beta-carotene and fibre.Sources: Nutritional composition data
5Green PeasPeas / lentils / chickpeas▾
● Contextual noteWhole legumes provide protein, fibre, and micronutrients. The FDA investigated (2018-2022) a potential association with dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM) in dogs when legumes are used as a primary ingredient, did not establish a causal link, and has paused public updates pending new science.Sources: FDA DCM Investigation 2018-2022 · Freeman et al. 2018 JAVMA
6Pork LiverNamed organ meats▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Organ meat from a named animal species, with both the species and the organ identified. Published nutrition references describe named organ meats (e.g. chicken liver, beef heart) as nutrient-dense, naturally rich in vitamins A and B12, iron, copper, and folate. Where the label names only the organ (e.g. "liver"), the animal species is not identified.Sources: NRC 2006 · Nutritional composition data
7RiceRice / brewer's rice▾
● Contextual noteA highly digestible carbohydrate. Brewer's rice is a milling by-product but still provides nutritional value.Sources: NRC 2006
8Rice StarchStarch (generic/unspecified)▾
● Contextual noteA concentrated starch used as a digestible carbohydrate source and binder. The source plant is often not specified, which limits traceability; named starches (e.g. potato starch) are shown under their own entries where recognised.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · EU Regulation 767/2009
Show all 29 ingredients ▾
9ChickenNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
10Wheat GlutenWheat / wheat gluten▾
● Contextual noteA protein and carbohydrate source. Wheat gluten is a high-quality plant protein. Note: true gluten intolerance is uncommon in dogs compared to humans.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
● Under research reviewA plant-derived insoluble fibre. Provides bulk but limited nutritional value. Acceptable in small amounts; when present as a primary fibre source (top 10 ingredients), it may indicate a high proportion of nutritionally inert filler.Sources: NRC 2006 Nutrient Requirements · Nutritional composition data
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studiesPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
13Soybean Oil▾
● Contextual noteA plant-derived oil providing omega-6 fatty acids. Derived from soybeans, which are a common allergen in some pets. Relevant for allergy-prone pets.Sources: NRC 2006 · AAFCO ingredient definitions
14Dried Beet PulpBeet pulp▾
● Beneficial (supported)A well-studied moderately fermentable fibre source associated with stool quality benefits in dogs.Sources: NRC 2006 · Fahey et al. 1990Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
15Whole Grain BarleyBarley▾
● Contextual noteA whole grain carbohydrate and fibre source. Provides beta-glucans, a type of soluble fibre associated with gut health benefits.Sources: Veterinary nutrition references
16Potassium AlginateAlginate (sodium/potassium)▾
● Contextual noteSodium alginate (E401) and potassium alginate (E402) are salts of alginic acid extracted from brown seaweed. They are used as thickeners, stabilisers and gelling agents (for example to set gravies, jellies and chunk-in-gel wet foods). In its 2017 re-evaluation of alginic acid and its salts (E 400-E 404), EFSA concluded there was no need for a numerical ADI and no safety concern at reported food-additive uses; both are permitted additives in the EU and are listed in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (401, 402).Sources: EFSA ANS Panel, Re-evaluation of alginic acid and its sodium, potassium, ammonium and calcium salts (E 400-E 404) as food additives, EFSA Journal 2017;15(11):5049 · EU Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 additive listing (E 401, E 402) · Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code, Schedule 15 permitted additives (401, 402)
17FlaxseedFlaxseed / flaxseed oil▾
● Beneficial (supported)A plant-based source of omega-3 (ALA), fibre, and lignans. Note: dogs have limited ability to convert plant ALA to the more bioactive EPA/DHA found in marine sources.Sources: Bauer 2011Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
18Calcium ChlorideCalcium salts▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added calcium (mineral) supplement.Sources: NRC 2006
19Chicken Fat▾
● Standard ingredientA named animal fat source providing energy and essential fatty acids.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
20Dicalcium PhosphateCalcium phosphates▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added calcium and phosphorus (mineral) supplement.
21Guar Gum▾
● Contextual noteThickener and stabiliser used in wet food. Permitted for food use by the US FDA (GRAS) at low levels. May cause digestive discomfort (gas, loose stool) at higher concentrations in some animals.Sources: EFSA 2017
22Calcium LactateCalcium salts▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added calcium (mineral) supplement.Sources: NRC 2006
23Calcium GluconateCalcium salts▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added calcium (mineral) supplement.Sources: NRC 2006
24Monosodium PhosphatePhosphate salts (misc.)▾
● Standard ingredientPhosphate salts used as mineral nutrient sources and processing aids (texture, palatant carriers), and phosphoric acid as an acidifier. Distinct from the condensed phosphates under research review (sodium tripolyphosphate, sodium hexametaphosphate), which are classified separately.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · EU Regulation 767/2009
25Choline Chloride▾
● Standard ingredientCholine chloride: a standard added nutrient for normal cell and nerve function.
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a vitamin premix. Where the label lists the specific vitamins in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual vitamins are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
27Sodium Tripolyphosphate▾
● Under research reviewAn inorganic phosphate salt (E451) permitted as a food additive in the US (GRAS) and the EU, used in pet food mainly for moisture retention and in some dental-care formulations. EFSA's 2019 re-evaluation of phosphates set a group acceptable daily intake. Limited pet food-specific toxicology.Sources: EFSA 2019 phosphates opinion
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
29Beta-Carotene▾
● Beneficial (emerging)A provitamin A carotenoid and antioxidant. Some studies have explored its role in immune function and skin health in dogs. Note: cats cannot convert beta-carotene to vitamin A.Sources: Chew et al. 2000 (Journal of Nutrition)Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
This product lists 2 separate wheat derivatives (wheat, wheat gluten). When listed separately, each appears lower on the ingredient list than they would if combined as a single entry.
Brand states 787 kcal/kg
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
disclosed
Colgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition)
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Hill's? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
21 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources