Science Diet · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Colgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition) · 3 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2019: Global voluntary recall of canned dog food due to excess Vitamin D from supplier error. FDA warning letter. $12.5M settlement. 0 APOG consumer reports.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedAAFCO · FDA cGMP
Parent company
Customer reviews
4.3
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
1 source · prices re-checked 20 days ago
1ChickenNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
2porkNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
3pea proteinPea protein / pea starch / pea fibre▾
● Contextual noteFractionated legume derivatives that can be used to increase the protein reading on a guaranteed analysis without providing a complete amino acid profile. More relevant than whole peas to the FDA's DCM investigation (2018-2022, no causal link established).Sources: FDA DCM Investigation 2018-2022
4salmonNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
5trace elementsMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
6tapioca starchTapioca / tapioca starch▾
● Contextual noteA carbohydrate source that provides energy but limited micronutrients.Sources: NRC 2006
7vitaminsVitamins (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a vitamin premix. Where the label lists the specific vitamins in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual vitamins are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
8dried whole eggWhole eggs / dried egg product▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Egg protein has the highest biological value of any common protein source, providing a complete amino acid profile.Sources: NRC 2006 · Protein biological value studies
Show all 14 ingredients ▾
9corn starchStarch (generic/unspecified)▾
● Contextual noteA concentrated starch used as a digestible carbohydrate source and binder. The source plant is often not specified, which limits traceability; named starches (e.g. potato starch) are shown under their own entries where recognised.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · EU Regulation 767/2009
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
11sunflower oil▾
● Standard ingredientA named plant oil providing energy and fatty acids.
12fish oilEPA + DHA (marine-source omega-3)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Marine-source omega-3 fatty acids associated with anti-inflammatory, skin/coat health, joint support, cognitive function, and cardiac and renal support in multiple peer-reviewed studies.Sources: Bauer 2011 JAVMA · NRC 2006 · Multiple RCTs in dogs for skin/joint conditionsPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
13mineralsMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
14natural caramelCaramel colour (Class III & IV)▾
● Under research reviewContains 4-methylimidazole (4-MEI). NTP studies found 4-MEI to be carcinogenic in rodents. Listed under California Proposition 65.Sources: NTP Technical Report 535 · IARC Monograph Vol 101 · California Prop 65
Potassium0.85% dry matterbrand stated
Magnesium0.122% dry matterbrand stated
Taurine0.38% dry matterbrand stated
Omega-3 (total)1.29% dry matterbrand stated
Moisture is not declared on the label, so no dry-matter comparison against AAFCO minimums is shown.
Taurine is an essential amino acid for cats. This product does not appear to list taurine as a supplemented ingredient. You may wish to verify with the manufacturer or your vet.
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
disclosed
Colgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition)
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Science Diet? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
66 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources