Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
33 ingredients (broken into components where relevant) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1ChickenNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
2Brown RiceRice / brewer's rice▾
● Contextual noteA highly digestible carbohydrate. Brewer's rice is a milling by-product but still provides nutritional value.Sources: NRC 2006
3Whole Grain WheatWheat / wheat gluten▾
● Contextual noteA protein and carbohydrate source. Wheat gluten is a high-quality plant protein. Note: true gluten intolerance is uncommon in dogs compared to humans.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
4Whole Grain CornCorn / corn gluten meal▾
● Contextual noteA digestible carbohydrate and protein source for most dogs. Commonly characterised as filler in consumer discussions, but veterinary nutrition research supports its nutritional value.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
5Brewers RiceRice / brewer's rice▾
● Contextual noteA highly digestible carbohydrate. Brewer's rice is a milling by-product but still provides nutritional value.Sources: NRC 2006
6Whole Grain SorghumSorghum▾
● Contextual noteAn ancient gluten-free grain used as a carbohydrate source. Provides starch and some protein.Sources: Nutritional composition data
7Chicken Fat▾
● Standard ingredientA named animal fat source providing energy and essential fatty acids.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
8Soybean MealSoy / soybean meal▾
● Contextual noteA plant-based protein source. Contains phytoestrogens (isoflavones). A common allergen in some pets.Sources: NRC 2006 · AAFCO 2024
Show all 33 ingredients ▾
9Chicken MealNamed species meat meal▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Rendered meal from a named animal species: a concentrated protein source with water and fat removed. The species is identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · Veterinary nutrition references
10Soybean Mill RunSoy / soybean meal▾
● Contextual noteA plant-based protein source. Contains phytoestrogens (isoflavones). A common allergen in some pets.Sources: NRC 2006 · AAFCO 2024
This product lists 2 separate rice derivatives (rice, brown rice). When listed separately, each appears lower on the ingredient list than they would if combined as a single entry.
This product lists 2 separate soy derivatives (soybean meal, soybean oil). When listed separately, each appears lower on the ingredient list than they would if combined as a single entry.
Guaranteed analysis
as declared by the manufacturer
✓Labelled complete and balanced (no recognised standard cited)
Protein21.5%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
Fat15%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
Fibre3.7%no AAFCO reference
3,619 kcal/kg≈ 1,514 kJ / 100g energy densityBrand states 3,619 kcal/kg
Moisture is not declared on the label, so no dry-matter comparison against AAFCO minimums is shown.
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Hill's Science Diet · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Colgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition) · 3 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2019: Global voluntary recall of canned dog food due to excess Vitamin D from supplier error. FDA warning letter. $12.5M settlement. 0 APOG consumer reports.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedAAFCO · FDA cGMP
Parent companydisclosedColgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition)
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Hill's Science Diet? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Customer reviews
4.7
467 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Beneficial (well-established)Organ meat from a named animal species, with both the species and the organ identified. Published nutrition references describe named organ meats (e.g. chicken liver, beef heart) as nutrient-dense, naturally rich in vitamins A and B12, iron, copper, and folate. Where the label names only the organ (e.g. "liver"), the animal species is not identified.Sources: NRC 2006 · Nutritional composition dataPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
12FlaxseedFlaxseed / flaxseed oil▾
● Beneficial (supported)A plant-based source of omega-3 (ALA), fibre, and lignans. Note: dogs have limited ability to convert plant ALA to the more bioactive EPA/DHA found in marine sources.Sources: Bauer 2011Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
13Pork Liver FlavorNamed organ meats▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Organ meat from a named animal species, with both the species and the organ identified. Published nutrition references describe named organ meats (e.g. chicken liver, beef heart) as nutrient-dense, naturally rich in vitamins A and B12, iron, copper, and folate. Where the label names only the organ (e.g. "liver"), the animal species is not identified.Sources: NRC 2006 · Nutritional composition dataPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
14Lactic Acid▾
● Standard ingredientA naturally occurring organic acid used as a preservative or pH regulator.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
15Soybean Oil▾
● Contextual noteA plant-derived oil providing omega-6 fatty acids. Derived from soybeans, which are a common allergen in some pets. Relevant for allergy-prone pets.Sources: NRC 2006 · AAFCO ingredient definitions
16Whole Grain OatsOats▾
● Contextual noteA whole grain carbohydrate source rich in soluble fibre (beta-glucans). Generally well-tolerated and considered a high-quality grain for pets.Sources: Veterinary nutrition references
17Potassium Chloride▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added potassium (mineral) supplement.
18Iodized SaltSalt▾
● Contextual noteAn essential mineral present in all pet food. Flag only when appearing high on the ingredient list.Sources: NRC 2006
● Beneficial (supported)A prebiotic fibre associated with gut microbiome support in published studies. Promotes beneficial bacteria growth.Sources: Swanson et al. 2002Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
20Calcium CarbonateCalcium salts▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added calcium (mineral) supplement.
21Lipoic AcidAlpha-lipoic acid▾
● Contextual noteA sulfur-containing antioxidant (also called thioctic acid). In dogs, reviews support antioxidant and anti-inflammatory benefit, well tolerated at low dietary levels (roughly 2.7 to 4.94 mg/kg/day), well below the canine maximum tolerated dose of about 126 mg/kg. Strongly dose-dependent: acute canine toxicity and death have been reported at single doses around 190 to 210 mg/kg. See cat-specific caution.Sources: MDPI Animals 2021 (a-lipoic acid in dog food review) · Hill et al. 2004 cat MTD study · Pet Poison Helpline · ASPCA Animal Poison Control
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a vitamin premix. Where the label lists the specific vitamins in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual vitamins are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
23Choline Chloride▾
● Standard ingredientCholine chloride: a standard added nutrient for normal cell and nerve function.
24Pumpkin▾
● Beneficial (supported)A source of soluble fibre widely recommended by veterinarians for digestive support.Sources: NRC 2006 · Veterinary digestive health referencesPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
25L-Lysine▾
● Standard ingredientAn essential amino acid added as a standard supplement.
26DL-Methionine▾
● Contextual noteAn essential amino acid commonly added to pet food. Also functions as a urinary acidifier (lowers urine pH). Veterinary sources note it should be used with caution in pets with kidney disease, pancreatic disease, or liver insufficiency. Not recommended for kittens.Sources: VCA Animal Hospitals · PetMD veterinary reference · NRC 2006
27TaurineTaurine (supplemental)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Taurine supplementation is increasingly common in dog food, particularly for breeds associated with DCM susceptibility.Sources: Pion et al. 1987 · NRC 2006 · Freeman et al. 2018Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
29Dicalcium PhosphateCalcium phosphates▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added calcium and phosphorus (mineral) supplement.
30Mixed Tocopherols for freshnessMixed tocopherols (natural preservative)▾
● Beneficial (emerging)This product uses mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) as a preservative, which is an alternative to synthetic preservation systems.Sources: NRC 2006Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
31Natural FlavorsNatural flavours▾
● Contextual noteA broad AAFCO-defined category that may contain multiple unspecified compounds. Relevant for allergy-prone pets since potential allergens may not be individually listed.Sources: AAFCO 2024
32L-Carnitine▾
● Beneficial (emerging)L-carnitine is associated with fat metabolism support in some studies, particularly in weight management contexts.Sources: Gross et al. 2000Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
33Beta-Carotene▾
● Beneficial (emerging)A provitamin A carotenoid and antioxidant. Some studies have explored its role in immune function and skin health in dogs. Note: cats cannot convert beta-carotene to vitamin A.Sources: Chew et al. 2000 (Journal of Nutrition)Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.