Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
21 components (the label lists 20 ingredients) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1Poultry by-productsPoultry (bird species not specified)▾
● Contextual noteA poultry ingredient where the bird species (chicken, turkey, duck, etc.) is not identified. Covers generic terms like poultry, poultry meal, poultry protein, and poultry by-products. Limits traceability compared to named species; treated as a possible chicken source for allergy checking.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
2chicken meatNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
Show all 21 components ▾
9sunflower oil (refined)Sunflower oil▾
● Standard ingredientA named plant oil providing energy and fatty acids.
10psyllium husksPsyllium husk▾
● Beneficial (emerging)A soluble fibre source used by veterinarians for digestive support. Evidence in dogs and cats comes mostly from clinical practice and small studies.Sources: NRC 2006
11seedsSeeds (generic/unspecified)
Guaranteed analysis
as fed · compared to AAFCO dog growth & reproduction minimums
AAFCO, the Association of American Feed Control Officials, publishes minimum nutrient levels for complete dog and cat foods. Each bar below compares this product's declared analysis to the AAFCO dog growth & reproduction minimum, marked by the vertical tick.
✓Labelled complete and balanced (no recognised standard cited)
Protein12.7%AAFCO min 22.5% DM
Fat6.4%AAFCO min 8.5% DM
Fibre1.7%no AAFCO reference
Moisture73%no AAFCO reference
1,183 kcal/kg≈ 495 kJ / 100g energy densityBrand states 1,266 kcal/kg
Also declared on the label
Ash2.3%brand stated
This product is labelled for all life stages. AAFCO requires an all-life-stages food to meet the growth profile, the stricter of its two profiles, so figures here are compared against AAFCO dog growth & reproduction minimums.
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Royal Canin · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Mars Petcare Australia · 14 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2020: Voluntary quarantine of a prescription diet product in AU following consumer complaints. Resolved. 0 APOG consumer reports.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedBRC · ISO 22000
Parent companydisclosedMars Petcare Australia
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Royal Canin? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Standard ingredientGelatin (also spelled gelatine) is a protein obtained by the partial hydrolysis of collagen from animal skin, bone or connective tissue. In pet food it acts as a gelling agent, thickener and binder, for example to set the jelly in wet foods and to bind soft chews and treats. It is treated as a food ingredient rather than a numbered additive (no current EU E-number), and is permitted for food use by the US FDA (GRAS) and in Australia.Sources: US FDA GRAS status for gelatin (SCOGS review; 21 CFR 182.70 prior-sanctioned/GRAS) · EU status as a food/ingredient rather than an E-numbered additive under Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 · Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (gelatin permitted as a food ingredient)
4corn starch mixtureStarch (generic/unspecified)▾
● Contextual noteA concentrated starch used as a digestible carbohydrate source and binder. The source plant is often not specified, which limits traceability; named starches (e.g. potato starch) are shown under their own entries where recognised.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · EU Regulation 767/2009
● Under research reviewA plant-derived insoluble fibre. Provides bulk but limited nutritional value. Acceptable in small amounts; when present as a primary fibre source (top 10 ingredients), it may indicate a high proportion of nutritionally inert filler.Sources: NRC 2006 Nutrient Requirements · Nutritional composition data
6fish oilEPA + DHA (marine-source omega-3)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Marine-source omega-3 fatty acids associated with anti-inflammatory, skin/coat health, joint support, cognitive function, and cardiac and renal support in multiple peer-reviewed studies.Sources: Bauer 2011 JAVMA · NRC 2006 · Multiple RCTs in dogs for skin/joint conditions
7caseinate
8mineralsMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
▾
● Contextual noteA generic seed declaration. Where the label names the seeds in brackets, each is shown and classified below. Unnamed seeds limit traceability and allergen assessment.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
● Beneficial (supported)A prebiotic fibre associated with gut microbiome support in published studies. Promotes beneficial bacteria growth.Sources: Swanson et al. 2002Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
13marigold extract (source of lutein)▾
● Beneficial (emerging)Marigold extract is a natural source of lutein, a carotenoid antioxidant. Some studies have explored lutein for eye health and immune function support in dogs and cats.Sources: Kim et al. 2000 (Journal of Nutrition) · Nutritional composition dataPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
14yeastsYeasts / yeast products (generic)▾
● Contextual noteA generic term for whole inactivated yeast or unspecified yeast-derived products (usually Saccharomyces cerevisiae). Can supply protein, B vitamins, and cell-wall fractions (MOS, beta-glucans), but the specific form and processing are not disclosed. Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · Nutritional composition data
● Standard ingredientA standard added vitamin involved in vision and immune function.
16Vitamin D3: 195 IUVitamin D3▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added vitamin involved in calcium metabolism and bone health.
17Iron: 12 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
18Iodine: 0.6 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
19Copper: 2.5 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
20Manganese: 10.1 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
21Zinc: 37 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions