Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
18 components (the label lists 17 ingredients) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1Wheat gluten**Wheat / wheat gluten▾
● Contextual noteA protein and carbohydrate source. Wheat gluten is a high-quality plant protein. Note: true gluten intolerance is uncommon in dogs compared to humans.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
2dehydrated poultry proteinPoultry (bird species not specified)▾
● Contextual noteA poultry ingredient where the bird species (chicken, turkey, duck, etc.) is not identified. Covers generic terms like poultry, poultry meal, poultry protein, and poultry by-products. Limits traceability compared to named species; treated as a possible chicken source for allergy checking.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
3
Show all 18 components ▾
9beet pulp▾
● Beneficial (supported)A well-studied moderately fermentable fibre source associated with stool quality benefits in dogs.Sources: NRC 2006 · Fahey et al. 1990
10mineralsMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
11
This product lists 2 separate wheat derivatives (wheat, wheat flour). When listed separately, each appears lower on the ingredient list than they would if combined as a single entry.
Guaranteed analysis
as declared by the manufacturer
✓Labelled complete and balanced (no recognised standard cited)
Protein29%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
Fat15%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
Fibre5.4%no AAFCO reference
3,722 kcal/kg≈ 1,557 kJ / 100g energy densityBrand states 3,722 kcal/kg
Moisture is not declared on the label, so no dry-matter comparison against AAFCO minimums is shown.
Taurine is an essential amino acid for cats. This product does not appear to list taurine as a supplemented ingredient. You may wish to verify with the manufacturer or your vet.
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Royal Canin · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Mars Petcare Australia · 14 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2020: Voluntary quarantine of a prescription diet product in AU following consumer complaints. Resolved. 0 APOG consumer reports.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedBRC · ISO 22000
Parent companydisclosedMars Petcare Australia
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Royal Canin? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Customer reviews
4.8
89 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources
What owners mention most: Customers praise the taste and effectiveness for dental health.
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Contextual noteA digestible carbohydrate and protein source for most dogs. Commonly characterised as filler in consumer discussions, but veterinary nutrition research supports its nutritional value.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
4riceRice / brewer's rice▾
● Contextual noteA highly digestible carbohydrate. Brewer's rice is a milling by-product but still provides nutritional value.Sources: NRC 2006
5animal fatsUnnamed animal fats▾
● Under research reviewGeneric animal fats without species identification. The source animal(s) cannot be confirmed, which limits traceability and is relevant for pets with food sensitivities or allergies.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · FDA CVM documentation
6wheat flourWheat / wheat gluten▾
● Contextual noteA protein and carbohydrate source. Wheat gluten is a high-quality plant protein. Note: true gluten intolerance is uncommon in dogs compared to humans.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
7vegetable fibres▾
● Contextual noteA generic term for plant-derived fibre sources. The specific source plant is not identified, limiting traceability.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
8maize flourCorn / corn gluten meal▾
● Contextual noteA digestible carbohydrate and protein source for most dogs. Commonly characterised as filler in consumer discussions, but veterinary nutrition research supports its nutritional value.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
hydrolysed animal proteins
Unnamed animal proteins
▾
● Under research reviewGeneric animal proteins or hydrolysed animal proteins without species identification. The source animal(s) cannot be confirmed, which limits traceability.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · FDA CVM documentation
12fish oilEPA + DHA (marine-source omega-3)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Marine-source omega-3 fatty acids associated with anti-inflammatory, skin/coat health, joint support, cognitive function, and cardiac and renal support in multiple peer-reviewed studies.Sources: Bauer 2011 JAVMA · NRC 2006 · Multiple RCTs in dogs for skin/joint conditionsPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
● Beneficial (supported)A prebiotic fibre associated with gut microbiome support in published studies. Promotes beneficial bacteria growth.Sources: Swanson et al. 2002Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
14psyllium husksPsyllium husk▾
● Beneficial (emerging)A soluble fibre source used by veterinarians for digestive support. Evidence in dogs and cats comes mostly from clinical practice and small studies.Sources: NRC 2006Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
15seedsSeeds (generic/unspecified)▾
● Contextual noteA generic seed declaration. Where the label names the seeds in brackets, each is shown and classified below. Unnamed seeds limit traceability and allergen assessment.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
16soya oilSoybean oil▾
● Contextual noteA plant-derived oil providing omega-6 fatty acids. Derived from soybeans, which are a common allergen in some pets. Relevant for allergy-prone pets.Sources: NRC 2006 · AAFCO ingredient definitions
17yeasts (source of manno-oligo-saccharides)1 components▾
● Contextual noteA generic term for whole inactivated yeast or unspecified yeast-derived products (usually Saccharomyces cerevisiae). Can supply protein, B vitamins, and cell-wall fractions (MOS, beta-glucans), but the specific form and processing are not disclosed. Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · Nutritional composition data
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
18marigold mealMarigold extract (source of lutein)▾
● Beneficial (emerging)Marigold extract is a natural source of lutein, a carotenoid antioxidant. Some studies have explored lutein for eye health and immune function support in dogs and cats.Sources: Kim et al. 2000 (Journal of Nutrition) · Nutritional composition dataPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.