10 components (the label lists 9 ingredients) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
Guaranteed analysis
as fed · compared to AAFCO adult cat maintenance minimums
AAFCO, the Association of American Feed Control Officials, publishes minimum nutrient levels for complete dog and cat foods. Each bar below compares this product's declared analysis to the AAFCO adult cat maintenance minimum, marked by the vertical tick.
✓Labelled complete and balanced (no recognised standard cited)
Protein7.8%AAFCO min 26% DM
Fat2.6%AAFCO min 9% DM
Fibre1.9%no AAFCO reference
Moisture81%no AAFCO reference
612 kcal/kg≈ 256 kJ / 100g energy density
Brand transparency
Hill's · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Colgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition) · 3 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2019: Included in excess Vitamin D canned dog food recall. Multiple products affected.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedAAFCO · FDA cGMP
Parent companydisclosed
Customer reviews
4.2
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
1Meat and animal derivatives (chicken 27%)1 components▾
● Contextual noteA meat ingredient where the animal species is named but disclosure is partial: by-products from a named species (e.g. chicken by-product meal; also labelled "co-products", the industry's newer term), or a generic meat term with the species named in brackets (e.g. meat meal (beef and/or lamb)). An "and/or" list means the exact mix may vary between batches; where a percentage is shown (e.g. "chicken 27%"), only that minimum is guaranteed to come from that species. Named species are checked against your pet's allergy profile. By-product and co-product terms do not specify which parts are used. More transparent than fully unnamed meat terms; named whole meats, meals, and organ meats provide the strongest traceability.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · EU Regulation 767/2009
The label names these possible species — shown for identification and allergy checking:
2derivatives of vegetable origin▾
● Contextual noteA European-style labelling term for plant-derived ingredients without specifying the source plants. Limits traceability and allergen identification.Sources: EU Regulation 767/2009 · FEDIAF labelling guidelines
3eggsWhole eggs / dried egg product▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Egg protein has the highest biological value of any common protein source, providing a complete amino acid profile.Sources: NRC 2006 · Protein biological value studies
4egg derivativesWhole eggs / dried egg product▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Egg protein has the highest biological value of any common protein source, providing a complete amino acid profile.Sources: NRC 2006 · Protein biological value studies
5vegetablesVegetables (generic)▾
● Contextual noteA generic term for vegetable ingredients. Where the label names the vegetables in brackets, each is shown and classified below; 'including' wording means others may be present without being listed. Unnamed vegetables limit traceability and allergen assessment.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
6various sugarsAdded sugar / sucrose▾
● Under research reviewSweetener and palatant with no nutritional purpose in pet food. Established associations with dental disease in the veterinary dental literature. May be added to increase palatability.Sources: NRC 2006 Nutrient Requirements · Veterinary dental health consensus
7cerealsCereals (generic)▾
● Contextual noteA generic term for grain ingredients, common on European-style labels. Where the label names the grains in brackets, each is shown and classified below; 'and/or' wording means the mix can vary between batches. Unnamed grains are relevant for pets with grain sensitivities.Sources: EU Regulation 767/2009 · FEDIAF labelling guidelines
8oils and fatsOils and fats (generic)▾
● Contextual noteA generic term for oil and fat sources. Where the label names the sources in brackets, each is shown and classified below. Unnamed sources cannot be traced to an animal or plant species; named sources (e.g. chicken fat, salmon oil) provide more transparency.Sources: EU Regulation 767/2009 · AAFCO ingredient definitions
Show all 10 components ▾
9mineralsMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
10vegetable protein extractsVegetable protein isolate▾
● Contextual noteA concentrated plant-based protein source. When the source plant is not specified, traceability is limited and allergen identification is difficult for sensitive pets.Sources: Nutritional composition data · AAFCO ingredient definitions
Taurine is an essential amino acid for cats. This product does not appear to list taurine as a supplemented ingredient. You may wish to verify with the manufacturer or your vet.
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Colgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition)
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Hill's? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
163 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources