17 components (the label lists 16 ingredients) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
Guaranteed analysis
as fed · compared to AAFCO adult dog maintenance minimums
AAFCO, the Association of American Feed Control Officials, publishes minimum nutrient levels for complete dog and cat foods. Each bar below compares this product's declared analysis to the AAFCO adult dog maintenance minimum, marked by the vertical tick.
✓Labelled complete and balanced (no recognised standard cited)
Protein24%AAFCO min 18% DM
Fat17%AAFCO min 5.5% DM
Moisture8.5%no AAFCO reference
3,750 kcal/kg≈ 1,569 kJ / 100g energy densityBrand states 375 kcal/100g
Also declared on the label
Brand transparency
Advance · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Mars Petcare Australia · 14 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2018: Voluntary recall of Advance Dermocare dry dog food linked to megaesophagus in 74+ dogs. Senate inquiry followed. 2 APOG consumer reports.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardconfirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedAS5812 · HACCP
Parent companydisclosed
Customer reviews
4.7
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
1LambNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
2Sheep MealNamed species meat meal▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Rendered meal from a named animal species: a concentrated protein source with water and fat removed. The species is identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · Veterinary nutrition references
3RiceRice / brewer's rice▾
● Contextual noteA highly digestible carbohydrate. Brewer's rice is a milling by-product but still provides nutritional value.Sources: NRC 2006
4Rice FlourRice / brewer's rice▾
● Contextual noteA highly digestible carbohydrate. Brewer's rice is a milling by-product but still provides nutritional value.Sources: NRC 2006
5Sorghum▾
● Contextual noteAn ancient gluten-free grain used as a carbohydrate source. Provides starch and some protein.Sources: Nutritional composition data
6Chicken Fat▾
● Standard ingredientA named animal fat source providing energy and essential fatty acids.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
7Chicken MealNamed species meat meal▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Rendered meal from a named animal species: a concentrated protein source with water and fat removed. The species is identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · Veterinary nutrition references
8Maize GlutenCorn / corn gluten meal▾
● Contextual noteA digestible carbohydrate and protein source for most dogs. Commonly characterised as filler in consumer discussions, but veterinary nutrition research supports its nutritional value.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
Show all 17 components ▾
9Natural Flavour (Chicken)1 components▾
● Standard ingredientA flavouring agent derived from a named animal species, providing more traceability than generic natural flavours. Note: chicken digest and similar named digests are relevant for allergen matching (a pet with chicken allergy should be flagged).Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
10Dried Beet PulpBeet pulp▾
● Beneficial (supported)A well-studied moderately fermentable fibre source associated with stool quality benefits in dogs.Sources: NRC 2006 · Fahey et al. 1990
11Salt▾
● Contextual noteAn essential mineral present in all pet food. Flag only when appearing high on the ingredient list.Sources: NRC 2006
12Sunflower Oil▾
● Standard ingredientA named plant oil providing energy and fatty acids.
13Turkey MealNamed species meat meal▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Rendered meal from a named animal species: a concentrated protein source with water and fat removed. The species is identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · Veterinary nutrition referencesPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
14Inulin▾
● Beneficial (supported)A prebiotic fibre associated with promoting beneficial gut bacteria (bifidobacteria).Sources: Swanson et al. 2002Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
15VitaminsVitamins (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a vitamin premix. Where the label lists the specific vitamins in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual vitamins are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
16AntioxidantsAntioxidants (generic/undisclosed)▾
● Contextual noteA generic antioxidant declaration. On EU and Australian labels, antioxidants is the additive class name and does not disclose which compound is used: it may be a natural form (tocopherols, rosemary extract) or a synthetic one (BHA, BHT, TBHQ, ethoxyquin). The specific antioxidant cannot be confirmed from the label.Sources: EU Regulation 767/2009 · AS 5812 (Australian Standard for pet food)
17Amino Acids (incl. Methionine)1 components▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for an amino acid supplement blend. Where the label lists the specific amino acids in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual amino acids are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
This product lists 2 separate rice derivatives (rice, rice flour). When listed separately, each appears lower on the ingredient list than they would if combined as a single entry.
Ash
8%
brand stated
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Mars Petcare Australia
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Advance? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
263 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources