Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
23 ingredients (broken into components where relevant) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1Pork LiverNamed organ meats▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Organ meat from a named animal species, with both the species and the organ identified. Published nutrition references describe named organ meats (e.g. chicken liver, beef heart) as nutrient-dense, naturally rich in vitamins A and B12, iron, copper, and folate. Where the label names only the organ (e.g. "liver"), the animal species is not identified.Sources: NRC 2006 · Nutritional composition data
2Pork By-ProductsNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
Show all 23 ingredients ▾
9Natural FlavorNatural flavours▾
● Contextual noteA broad AAFCO-defined category that may contain multiple unspecified compounds. Relevant for allergy-prone pets since potential allergens may not be individually listed.Sources: AAFCO 2024
10Guar Gum▾
● Contextual noteThickener and stabiliser used in wet food. Permitted for food use by the US FDA (GRAS) at low levels. May cause digestive discomfort (gas, loose stool) at higher concentrations in some animals.Sources: EFSA 2017
11
Nutrient analysis
dry matter, the manufacturer's basis · compared to AAFCO adult cat maintenance minimums
✓Feeding trials substantiate that this product meets AAFCO nutrient profiles (Adult)"Animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate that Hill’s Prescription Diet m/d GlucoSupport With Liver Cat Food provides complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance of adult cats" (brand statement)
Protein52.1%AAFCO min 26% DM
Fat24.8%AAFCO min 9% DM
Fibre2.7%no AAFCO reference
1,106 kcal/kg≈ 463 kJ / 100g energy densityBrand states 1,106 kcal/kg
This manufacturer publishes its analysis on a dry-matter basis (with moisture removed), so the values above are shown on that basis and moisture is not stated. AAFCO minimums are also dry-matter figures, so they compare directly; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Hill's · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Colgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition) · 3 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2019: Included in excess Vitamin D canned dog food recall. Multiple products affected.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedAAFCO · FDA cGMP
Parent companydisclosedColgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition)
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Hill's? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Customer reviews
4.3
41 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Standard ingredientWater used in processing; contributes to the declared moisture content.
4Chicken Fat▾
● Standard ingredientA named animal fat source providing energy and essential fatty acids.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
5Corn StarchStarch (generic/unspecified)▾
● Contextual noteA concentrated starch used as a digestible carbohydrate source and binder. The source plant is often not specified, which limits traceability; named starches (e.g. potato starch) are shown under their own entries where recognised.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · EU Regulation 767/2009
6Potato ProteinPotato / sweet potato▾
● Contextual noteDigestible carbohydrate sources. Not harmful in themselves. Often used in grain-free formulations.Sources: NRC 2006
7Calcium SulfateCalcium salts▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added calcium (mineral) supplement.Sources: NRC 2006
● Under research reviewA plant-derived insoluble fibre. Provides bulk but limited nutritional value. Acceptable in small amounts; when present as a primary fibre source (top 10 ingredients), it may indicate a high proportion of nutritionally inert filler.Sources: NRC 2006 Nutrient Requirements · Nutritional composition data
Fish Oil
EPA + DHA (marine-source omega-3)
▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Marine-source omega-3 fatty acids associated with anti-inflammatory, skin/coat health, joint support, cognitive function, and cardiac and renal support in multiple peer-reviewed studies.Sources: Bauer 2011 JAVMA · NRC 2006 · Multiple RCTs in dogs for skin/joint conditionsPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
12Iodized SaltSalt▾
● Contextual noteAn essential mineral present in all pet food. Flag only when appearing high on the ingredient list.Sources: NRC 2006
13Potassium ChloridePotassium salts▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added potassium (mineral) supplement.Sources: NRC 2006
14Locust Bean Gum▾
● Contextual noteLocust bean gum (E410), also called carob bean gum, is a galactomannan polysaccharide milled from the seed endosperm of the carob tree (Ceratonia siliqua). In pet and human food it acts as a thickener, stabiliser and gelling agent. EFSA re-evaluated it in 2017 and set no numerical Acceptable Daily Intake (ADI), concluding no safety concern at reported food uses; it is a permitted additive in the EU and is listed in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (INS/additive 410).Sources: EFSA ANS Panel, Re-evaluation of locust bean gum (E 410) as a food additive, EFSA Journal 2017;15(1):4646 · EU Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 additive listing (E 410) · Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code, Schedule 15 permitted additives (410)
15TaurineTaurine (supplemental)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Taurine is an essential amino acid for cats. Deficiency can cause serious health consequences including dilated cardiomyopathy, central retinal degeneration, and reproductive failure.Sources: Pion et al. 1987 · NRC 2006 · Freeman et al. 2018Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
16Carrageenan▾
● Under research reviewThickener and stabiliser used in wet food. Some animal studies have associated degraded forms with gastrointestinal inflammation. Food-grade carrageenan may contain degraded fractions. Some premium brands have voluntarily removed it.Sources: Tobacman 2001 review · EFSA 2018 re-evaluation · Martino et al. 2017 · Chassaing et al. 2015
17DL-Methionine▾
● Contextual noteAn essential amino acid commonly added to pet food. Also functions as a urinary acidifier (lowers urine pH). Veterinary sources note it should be used with caution in pets with kidney disease, pancreatic disease, or liver insufficiency. Not recommended for kittens.Sources: VCA Animal Hospitals · PetMD veterinary reference · NRC 2006
18vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (source of Vitamin C), Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin Supplement, Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Biotin, Riboflavin Supplement, Menadione Sodium Bisulfite Complex (source of Vitamin K), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid)12 components · 1 under research review▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a vitamin premix. Where the label lists the specific vitamins in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual vitamins are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
Menadione Sodium Bisulfite Complex (source of Vitamin K: A synthetic form of vitamin K that is not authorised for human food or supplement use in the US or EU, with organ effects reported at high doses. Natural alternatives (K1, K2) are available. AAFCO panel found it acceptable in pet food at approved levels.Sources: EFSA 2014 vitamin K opinion · EU Directive 2002/46/EC · AAFCO expert panel review
19Choline Chloride▾
● Standard ingredientCholine chloride: a standard added nutrient for normal cell and nerve function.
20L-Carnitine▾
● Beneficial (emerging)L-carnitine is associated with fat metabolism support in some studies, particularly in weight management contexts.Sources: Gross et al. 2000Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
21L-Lysine▾
● Standard ingredientAn essential amino acid added as a standard supplement.
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
23Beta-Carotene▾
● Beneficial (emerging)Cats cannot convert beta-carotene to vitamin A and must obtain preformed vitamin A from animal sources.Sources: Chew et al. 2000 (Journal of Nutrition)Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.