Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
32 components (the label lists 30 ingredients) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1riceRice / brewer's rice▾
● Contextual noteA highly digestible carbohydrate. Brewer's rice is a milling by-product but still provides nutritional value.Sources: NRC 2006
2maizeCorn / corn gluten meal▾
● Contextual noteA digestible carbohydrate and protein source for most dogs. Commonly characterised as filler in consumer discussions, but veterinary nutrition research supports its nutritional value.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
3dehydrated poultry proteinPoultry (bird species not specified)
Show all 32 components ▾
9fish oilEPA + DHA (marine-source omega-3)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Marine-source omega-3 fatty acids associated with anti-inflammatory, skin/coat health, joint support, cognitive function, and cardiac and renal support in multiple peer-reviewed studies.Sources: Bauer 2011 JAVMA · NRC 2006 · Multiple RCTs in dogs for skin/joint conditions
10mineralsMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
Guaranteed analysis
as declared by the manufacturer
✓Labelled complete and balanced (no recognised standard cited)
Protein25%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
Fat14%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
Fibre1.4%no AAFCO reference
3,909 kcal/kg≈ 1,636 kJ / 100g energy densityBrand states 3,909 kcal/kg
Also declared on the label
Ash4.8%brand stated
Moisture is not declared on the label, so no dry-matter comparison against AAFCO minimums is shown.
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Royal Canin · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Mars Petcare Australia · 14 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2020: Voluntary quarantine of a prescription diet product in AU following consumer complaints. Resolved. 0 APOG consumer reports.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedBRC · ISO 22000
Parent companydisclosedMars Petcare Australia
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Royal Canin? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Customer reviews
4.9
48 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Contextual noteA poultry ingredient where the bird species (chicken, turkey, duck, etc.) is not identified. Covers generic terms like poultry, poultry meal, poultry protein, and poultry by-products. Limits traceability compared to named species; treated as a possible chicken source for allergy checking.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
4maize glutenCorn / corn gluten meal▾
● Contextual noteA digestible carbohydrate and protein source for most dogs. Commonly characterised as filler in consumer discussions, but veterinary nutrition research supports its nutritional value.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
5animal fatsUnnamed animal fats▾
● Under research reviewGeneric animal fats without species identification. The source animal(s) cannot be confirmed, which limits traceability and is relevant for pets with food sensitivities or allergies.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · FDA CVM documentation
● Under research reviewGeneric animal proteins or hydrolysed animal proteins without species identification. The source animal(s) cannot be confirmed, which limits traceability.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · FDA CVM documentation
7beet pulp▾
● Beneficial (supported)A well-studied moderately fermentable fibre source associated with stool quality benefits in dogs.Sources: NRC 2006 · Fahey et al. 1990
8vegetable protein isolate*Vegetable protein isolate▾
● Contextual noteA concentrated plant-based protein source. When the source plant is not specified, traceability is limited and allergen identification is difficult for sensitive pets.Sources: Nutritional composition data · AAFCO ingredient definitions
11psyllium husksPsyllium husk▾
● Beneficial (emerging)A soluble fibre source used by veterinarians for digestive support. Evidence in dogs and cats comes mostly from clinical practice and small studies.Sources: NRC 2006Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
12seedsSeeds (generic/unspecified)▾
● Contextual noteA generic seed declaration. Where the label names the seeds in brackets, each is shown and classified below. Unnamed seeds limit traceability and allergen assessment.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
13soya oilSoybean oil▾
● Contextual noteA plant-derived oil providing omega-6 fatty acids. Derived from soybeans, which are a common allergen in some pets. Relevant for allergy-prone pets.Sources: NRC 2006 · AAFCO ingredient definitions
● Beneficial (supported)A prebiotic fibre associated with gut microbiome support in published studies. Promotes beneficial bacteria growth.Sources: Swanson et al. 2002Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
15hydrolysed yeast (source of manno-oligo-saccharides)1 components▾
● Contextual noteThe soluble fraction of yeast, used as a savoury flavour enhancer and a natural source of free glutamate. Distinct from added MSG, and from yeast cell wall fractions (the source of MOS); autolysed and hydrolysed yeast are closely related yeast-derived flavour ingredients grouped here. Also supplies B vitamins and amino acids.Sources: EFSA 2017 glutamate re-evaluation
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
16borage oil▾
● Beneficial (emerging)A plant-derived oil containing the highest natural concentration of gamma-linolenic acid (GLA), an omega-6 fatty acid. Some veterinary-reviewed research has associated GLA with skin health and anti-inflammatory support in dogs.Sources: Nutritional composition data · Veterinary dermatology referencesPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
17green teaTea extract▾
● Beneficial (emerging)An extract from tea leaves (typically green tea) providing polyphenols and catechins (particularly EGCG) with well-documented antioxidant properties. Some studies have explored benefits for oral health and antioxidant status in dogs.Sources: Green tea catechin antioxidant studies · Veterinary oral health researchPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
18grape extracts (source of polyphenols)Grape extract (source of polyphenols)▾
● Under research reviewA polyphenol-rich extract (proanthocyanidins/OPCs) usually derived from grape seed or pomace. Important distinction: whole grapes and raisins are associated with acute kidney injury in dogs (Merck Veterinary Manual), with tartaric acid identified as the likely causal agent (dogs poorly excrete it). Processed grape seed/pomace extracts have tartaric acid largely removed, and industry guidance treats only the whole grape or raisin as the hazard; a 24-week canine study of a grape-and-blueberry polyphenol extract found no renal or hepatic toxicity. Safety depends on the extract being tartaric-acid-free. Any whole-grape or raisin material should still be flagged, for cats as well as dogs.Sources: Merck Veterinary Manual grape/raisin toxicosis · Wegenast et al. 2021/2022 (tartaric acid) · FEDIAF position 2013 · Neurophenols Consortium 24-week canine safety study (PMC4973095)
19hydrolysed crustaceans (source of glucosamine)Glucosamine HCL▾
● Contextual noteIncluded in many formulas for joint support. Early studies in dogs suggested cartilage support; a 2022 meta-analysis and a 2024 review found no clinical benefit for osteoarthritis pain. Quality and formulation vary across products.Sources: McCarthy et al. 2007 · Moreau et al. 2003 · Barbeau-Gregoire et al. 2022 · Pye et al. 2024
20marigold extract (source of lutein)▾
● Beneficial (emerging)Marigold extract is a natural source of lutein, a carotenoid antioxidant. Some studies have explored lutein for eye health and immune function support in dogs and cats.Sources: Kim et al. 2000 (Journal of Nutrition) · Nutritional composition dataPosition on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
21hydrolysed cartilage (source of chondroitin)Chondroitin sulfate▾
● Contextual noteIncluded in many formulas for joint support, often combined with glucosamine; a 2022 meta-analysis and a 2024 review found no clinical benefit for osteoarthritis pain.Sources: McCarthy et al. 2007 · Barbeau-Gregoire et al. 2022 · Pye et al. 2024
● Standard ingredientA standard added vitamin involved in vision and immune function.
23Vitamin D3: 800 IUVitamin D3▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added vitamin involved in calcium metabolism and bone health.
24E1 (Iron): 49 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
25E2 (Iodine): 4.9 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
26E4 (Copper): 9 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
27E5 (Manganese): 64 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
28E6 (Zinc): 192 mgMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
29E8 (Selenium): 0.11 mg1 components▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
● Under research reviewAn inorganic phosphate salt (E451) permitted as a food additive in the US (GRAS) and the EU, used in pet food mainly for moisture retention and in some dental-care formulations. EFSA's 2019 re-evaluation of phosphates set a group acceptable daily intake. Limited pet food-specific toxicology.Sources: EFSA 2019 phosphates opinion
● Contextual noteA preservative declaration. Where the label names the specific agents in brackets, each is shown and classified below. Where no agent is named, it is not possible to tell whether a natural system or a synthetic antioxidant under research review is present.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · EU Regulation 767/2009
32AntioxidantsAntioxidants (generic/undisclosed)▾
● Contextual noteA generic antioxidant declaration. On EU and Australian labels, antioxidants is the additive class name and does not disclose which compound is used: it may be a natural form (tocopherols, rosemary extract) or a synthetic one (BHA, BHT, TBHQ, ethoxyquin). The specific antioxidant cannot be confirmed from the label.Sources: EU Regulation 767/2009 · AS 5812 (Australian Standard for pet food)