Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
17 components (the label lists 16 ingredients) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1ChickenNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
2vegetable glycerineGlycerine▾
● Standard ingredientA humectant used to retain moisture in semi-moist foods, treats, and dental products. Also serves as a sweetener. Permitted for food use by the US FDA (GRAS).Sources: FDA GRAS status · AAFCO ingredient definitions
● Contextual noteA generic flavouring declaration. The label does not disclose whether the flavouring is natural or artificial, or what it is derived from.Sources: EU Regulation 767/2009
10tapioca starchTapioca / tapioca starch▾
● Contextual noteA carbohydrate source that provides energy but limited micronutrients.Sources: NRC 2006
11
This product lists 3 separate wheat derivatives (wheat, wheat flour, wheat gluten). When listed separately, each appears lower on the ingredient list than they would if combined as a single entry.
Brand transparency
Petbarn · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Greencross (Petbarn exclusive brand) · 8 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon recordNo formal recalls.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australianot confirmed
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Petbarn? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Customer reviews
4.7
71 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Contextual noteA protein and carbohydrate source. Wheat gluten is a high-quality plant protein. Note: true gluten intolerance is uncommon in dogs compared to humans.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
4wheat glutenWheat / wheat gluten▾
● Contextual noteA protein and carbohydrate source. Wheat gluten is a high-quality plant protein. Note: true gluten intolerance is uncommon in dogs compared to humans.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
5cellulose fibreCellulose / powdered cellulose▾
● Under research reviewA plant-derived insoluble fibre. Provides bulk but limited nutritional value. Acceptable in small amounts; when present as a primary fibre source (top 10 ingredients), it may indicate a high proportion of nutritionally inert filler.Sources: NRC 2006 Nutrient Requirements · Nutritional composition data
6soy proteinSoy / soybean meal▾
● Contextual noteA plant-based protein source. Contains phytoestrogens (isoflavones). A common allergen in some pets.Sources: NRC 2006 · AAFCO 2024
● Standard ingredientA flavouring agent derived from a named animal species, providing more traceability than generic natural flavours. Note: chicken digest and similar named digests are relevant for allergen matching (a pet with chicken allergy should be flagged).Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
8sorbitol▾
● Standard ingredientA sugar alcohol used as a humectant and sweetener, permitted by AAFCO and considered GRAS by the US FDA. Sorbitol is not xylitol: the veterinary literature does not associate sorbitol with the insulin release or hypoglycaemia reported for xylitol in dogs. The documented effect of high intakes is osmotic diarrhoea.Sources: FDA GRAS listing · AAFCO ingredient definitions · Merck Veterinary Manual (xylitol toxicosis entry)
titanium dioxide
▾
● Under research reviewWhitening and colour agent. EFSA's 2021 re-evaluation withdrew its acceptance as a human food additive, leading to an EU ban in human food in 2022. No nutritional purpose.Sources: EFSA 2021 safety assessment · EU Regulation 2022/63 · Musial et al. 2020
12emulsifier (soy lecithin)1 components▾
● Standard ingredientEmulsifiers used to bind fats and water and stabilise texture (glyceryl monostearate and related mono- and diglycerides, E471). Permitted at food levels by the US FDA (GRAS).Sources: FDA GRAS listing · EFSA re-evaluation of E471
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
13cookie
14cream flavourFlavours (generic/undisclosed)▾
● Contextual noteA generic flavouring declaration. The label does not disclose whether the flavouring is natural or artificial, or what it is derived from.Sources: EU Regulation 767/2009
15sodium tripolyphosphate▾
● Under research reviewAn inorganic phosphate salt (E451) permitted as a food additive in the US (GRAS) and the EU, used in pet food mainly for moisture retention and in some dental-care formulations. EFSA's 2019 re-evaluation of phosphates set a group acceptable daily intake. Limited pet food-specific toxicology.Sources: EFSA 2019 phosphates opinion
16vitamin CVitamin C as preservative▾
● Beneficial (emerging)This product uses vitamin C (ascorbic acid or ascorbyl palmitate) as part of its preservation system.Sources: NRC 2006Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
● Standard ingredientNatural preservation agents such as tocopherols or rosemary extract. Where the label names the agents in brackets, each is shown and classified below; 'including' wording means others may be present without being listed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions