Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
16 components (the label lists 15 ingredients) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1SalmonNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
2mackerelNamed single-species whole meat▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Whole meat from a named animal species. Both the species and the form are identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking. Published nutrition references associate named whole meats with high protein quality.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006 · Amino acid bioavailability studies
Show all 16 components ▾
9mineralsMinerals (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
10vitaminsVitamins (generic)▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a vitamin premix. Where the label lists the specific vitamins in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual vitamins are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
Guaranteed analysis
as declared by the manufacturer
✓Labelled complete and balanced (no recognised standard cited)
Protein30%moisture not declared, no AAFCO comparison
Moisture is not declared on the label, so no dry-matter comparison against AAFCO minimums is shown.
Values as declared by the manufacturer (as fed). AAFCO minimums are published on a dry-matter basis and converted using the declared moisture before comparison; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Pro Plan · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Nestle Purina Petcare Australia · 8 brands on Pawdit
Parent companydisclosedNestle Purina Petcare Australia
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Pro Plan? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Customer reviews
4.6
100 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources
What owners mention most: Customers appreciate the food for its effectiveness in managing sensitive stomachs and skin issues.
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Contextual noteA highly digestible carbohydrate. Brewer's rice is a milling by-product but still provides nutritional value.Sources: NRC 2006
4wholegrain sorghumSorghum▾
● Contextual noteAn ancient gluten-free grain used as a carbohydrate source. Provides starch and some protein.Sources: Nutritional composition data
5oats▾
● Contextual noteA whole grain carbohydrate source rich in soluble fibre (beta-glucans). Generally well-tolerated and considered a high-quality grain for pets.Sources: Veterinary nutrition references
6animal fat (source of omega-6 fatty acids)Unnamed animal fats▾
● Under research reviewGeneric animal fats without species identification. The source animal(s) cannot be confirmed, which limits traceability and is relevant for pets with food sensitivities or allergies.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · FDA CVM documentation
7pea proteinPea protein / pea starch / pea fibre▾
● Contextual noteFractionated legume derivatives that can be used to increase the protein reading on a guaranteed analysis without providing a complete amino acid profile. More relevant than whole peas to the FDA's DCM investigation (2018-2022, no causal link established).Sources: FDA DCM Investigation 2018-2022
8animal digest▾
● Contextual noteHydrolysed animal tissue used as a flavour coating. Source animal is usually unspecified. Named digest (e.g., chicken digest) provides more traceability than generic animal digest.Sources: AAFCO 2024
11amino acids (including calcium, phosphorous, sodium, chloride, potassium, magnesium, zinc, iron, manganese, copper, selenium, iodine, aluminosilicate, vitamin A, B vitamins, vitamin C, vitamin D, vitamin E, choline, folic acid)20 components▾
● Standard ingredientA generic term for an amino acid supplement blend. Where the label lists the specific amino acids in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual amino acids are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
12beet pulp (source of insoluble fibre)Beet pulp▾
● Beneficial (supported)A well-studied moderately fermentable fibre source associated with stool quality benefits in dogs.Sources: NRC 2006 · Fahey et al. 1990Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
13fish oil (source of omega-3 fatty acids, EPA and DHA)EPA + DHA (marine-source omega-3)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Marine-source omega-3 fatty acids associated with anti-inflammatory, skin/coat health, joint support, cognitive function, and cardiac and renal support in multiple peer-reviewed studies.Sources: Bauer 2011 JAVMA · NRC 2006 · Multiple RCTs in dogs for skin/joint conditionsPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
14chicory (source of inulin, a prebiotic fibre)2 components▾
● Standard ingredientThe whole chicory plant or its pulp, distinct from chicory root extract (a prebiotic FOS source).Sources: Nutritional composition data
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
15colostrumColostrum (bovine)▾
● Beneficial (emerging)Bovine colostrum has been explored for immune and gut health support in some preliminary studies in dogs.Sources: Satyaraj et al. 2013Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
● Standard ingredientNatural preservation agents such as tocopherols or rosemary extract. Where the label names the agents in brackets, each is shown and classified below; 'including' wording means others may be present without being listed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions