Pawdit presents manufacturer-declared facts and attributes every note to its published source. We do not rate, grade or rank products. This assessment is generated by an algorithmic methodology based on published sources. It is not a guarantee of product quality or safety. Always consult your veterinarian.
30 ingredients (broken into components where relevant) · tap any for its research notes
What do these mean? ▾
Beneficial. Linked to benefits in published research. Tiers show evidence strength.
Restricted or banned. Restricted or banned by a regulator in at least one country.
Under research review. Being studied or re-evaluated by researchers or regulators.
Contextual. Not flagged, but there is a note worth reading.
Standard. Everyday components like vitamins and minerals.
Not yet classified. Not in our dictionary yet. Always still listed.
Counts include what's inside compound entries like vitamin premixes, so they can add up to more than the label's ingredient count.
1Whole Grain WheatWheat / wheat gluten▾
● Contextual noteA protein and carbohydrate source. Wheat gluten is a high-quality plant protein. Note: true gluten intolerance is uncommon in dogs compared to humans.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
2Whole Grain CornCorn / corn gluten meal▾
● Contextual noteA digestible carbohydrate and protein source for most dogs. Commonly characterised as filler in consumer discussions, but veterinary nutrition research supports its nutritional value.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
3Flaxseed
Show all 30 ingredients ▾
9Fish OilEPA + DHA (marine-source omega-3)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Marine-source omega-3 fatty acids associated with anti-inflammatory, skin/coat health, joint support, cognitive function, and cardiac and renal support in multiple peer-reviewed studies.Sources: Bauer 2011 JAVMA · NRC 2006 · Multiple RCTs in dogs for skin/joint conditions
● Under research reviewA plant-derived insoluble fibre. Provides bulk but limited nutritional value. Acceptable in small amounts; when present as a primary fibre source (top 10 ingredients), it may indicate a high proportion of nutritionally inert filler.Sources: NRC 2006 Nutrient Requirements · Nutritional composition data
This product lists 3 separate corn derivatives (corn, corn gluten meal, corn gluten). When listed separately, each appears lower on the ingredient list than they would if combined as a single entry.
Nutrient analysis
dry matter, the manufacturer's basis · compared to AAFCO adult dog maintenance minimums
✓Feeding trials substantiate that this product meets AAFCO nutrient profiles (Adult)"Animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate that Hill's Prescription Diet j/d Chicken Flavor Dog Food provides complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance of adult dogs." (brand statement)
Protein20%AAFCO min 18% DM
Fat15.9%AAFCO min 5.5% DM
Fibre4.1%no AAFCO reference
3,670 kcal/kg≈ 1,536 kJ / 100g energy densityBrand states 3,670 kcal/kg
This manufacturer publishes its analysis on a dry-matter basis (with moisture removed), so the values above are shown on that basis and moisture is not stated. AAFCO minimums are also dry-matter figures, so they compare directly; the comparison is shown for context only. Consult your vet for diet decisions.
Brand transparency
Hill's · what the manufacturer discloses, not a rating
Part of Colgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition) · 3 brands on Pawdit
Recall historyon record2019: Included in excess Vitamin D canned dog food recall. Multiple products affected.
AS5812 accreditationAustralia's voluntary pet food manufacturing standardnot confirmed
PFIAA membershipPet Food Industry Association of Australiaconfirmed
Quality certificationsconfirmedAAFCO · FDA cGMP
Parent companydisclosedColgate-Palmolive (Hill's Pet Nutrition)
A factual disclosure checklist from public records and the brand's own statements. Items we haven't verified show as not confirmed: a data gap, not a judgment. Are you Hill's? Claim your brand to confirm or correct this record.
Customer reviews
4.8
468 reviews · aggregated from retailer listings across multiple sources
What owners mention most: Customers praise the taste and effectiveness for joint health.
Where to buy
confirm prices and explore sizes on the retailer's site
● Beneficial (supported)A plant-based source of omega-3 (ALA), fibre, and lignans. Note: dogs have limited ability to convert plant ALA to the more bioactive EPA/DHA found in marine sources.Sources: Bauer 2011
4Chicken MealNamed species meat meal▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Rendered meal from a named animal species: a concentrated protein source with water and fat removed. The species is identified, which supports traceability and allergy checking.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions · Veterinary nutrition references
5Soybean Mill RunSoy / soybean meal▾
● Contextual noteA plant-based protein source. Contains phytoestrogens (isoflavones). A common allergen in some pets.Sources: NRC 2006 · AAFCO 2024
6Corn Gluten MealCorn / corn gluten meal▾
● Contextual noteA digestible carbohydrate and protein source for most dogs. Commonly characterised as filler in consumer discussions, but veterinary nutrition research supports its nutritional value.Sources: AAFCO 2024 · NRC 2006
7Pork Fat▾
● Standard ingredientA named animal fat source providing energy and essential fatty acids.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
8Chicken Liver FlavorNamed organ meats▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Organ meat from a named animal species, with both the species and the organ identified. Published nutrition references describe named organ meats (e.g. chicken liver, beef heart) as nutrient-dense, naturally rich in vitamins A and B12, iron, copper, and folate. Where the label names only the organ (e.g. "liver"), the animal species is not identified.Sources: NRC 2006 · Nutritional composition data
11Pork Liver FlavorNamed organ meats▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Organ meat from a named animal species, with both the species and the organ identified. Published nutrition references describe named organ meats (e.g. chicken liver, beef heart) as nutrient-dense, naturally rich in vitamins A and B12, iron, copper, and folate. Where the label names only the organ (e.g. "liver"), the animal species is not identified.Sources: NRC 2006 · Nutritional composition dataPosition on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
12Lactic Acid▾
● Standard ingredientA naturally occurring organic acid used as a preservative or pH regulator.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
13Dried Beet PulpBeet pulp▾
● Beneficial (supported)A well-studied moderately fermentable fibre source associated with stool quality benefits in dogs.Sources: NRC 2006 · Fahey et al. 1990Position on the ingredient list suggests a moderate to small inclusion level.
14Potassium ChloridePotassium salts▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added potassium (mineral) supplement.Sources: NRC 2006
15L-Lysine▾
● Standard ingredientAn essential amino acid added as a standard supplement.
16Calcium CarbonateCalcium salts▾
● Standard ingredientA standard added calcium (mineral) supplement.Sources: NRC 2006
17Iodized SaltSalt▾
● Contextual noteAn essential mineral present in all pet food. Flag only when appearing high on the ingredient list.Sources: NRC 2006
18Choline Chloride▾
● Standard ingredientCholine chloride: a standard added nutrient for normal cell and nerve function.
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a vitamin premix. Where the label lists the specific vitamins in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual vitamins are not disclosed.Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
20L-Threonine▾
● Standard ingredientAn essential amino acid added as a standard supplement.
● Standard ingredientA generic term for a mineral premix. Where the label lists the specific mineral compounds in brackets, each is shown and classified below; otherwise the individual minerals are not disclosed. European-style labels declare added trace minerals as numbered additives with doses (e.g. "E4 (copper): 10 mg").Sources: AAFCO ingredient definitions
The label breaks this entry into components, each classified on its own:
22TaurineTaurine (supplemental)▾
● Beneficial (well-established)Taurine supplementation is increasingly common in dog food, particularly for breeds associated with DCM susceptibility.Sources: Pion et al. 1987 · NRC 2006 · Freeman et al. 2018Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
23Glucosamine HydrochlorideGlucosamine HCL▾
● Contextual noteIncluded in many formulas for joint support. Early studies in dogs suggested cartilage support; a 2022 meta-analysis and a 2024 review found no clinical benefit for osteoarthritis pain. Quality and formulation vary across products.Sources: McCarthy et al. 2007 · Moreau et al. 2003 · Barbeau-Gregoire et al. 2022 · Pye et al. 2024
24L-Tryptophan▾
● Standard ingredientAn essential amino acid added as a standard supplement.
25DL-Methionine▾
● Contextual noteAn essential amino acid commonly added to pet food. Also functions as a urinary acidifier (lowers urine pH). Veterinary sources note it should be used with caution in pets with kidney disease, pancreatic disease, or liver insufficiency. Not recommended for kittens.Sources: VCA Animal Hospitals · PetMD veterinary reference · NRC 2006
26L-Carnitine▾
● Beneficial (emerging)L-carnitine is associated with fat metabolism support in some studies, particularly in weight management contexts.Sources: Gross et al. 2000Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
27Mixed Tocopherols for freshnessMixed tocopherols (natural preservative)▾
● Beneficial (emerging)This product uses mixed tocopherols (natural vitamin E) as a preservative, which is an alternative to synthetic preservation systems.Sources: NRC 2006Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.
28Natural FlavorsNatural flavours▾
● Contextual noteA broad AAFCO-defined category that may contain multiple unspecified compounds. Relevant for allergy-prone pets since potential allergens may not be individually listed.Sources: AAFCO 2024
29Chondroitin Sulfate▾
● Contextual noteIncluded in many formulas for joint support, often combined with glucosamine; a 2022 meta-analysis and a 2024 review found no clinical benefit for osteoarthritis pain.Sources: McCarthy et al. 2007 · Barbeau-Gregoire et al. 2022 · Pye et al. 2024
30Beta-Carotene▾
● Beneficial (emerging)A provitamin A carotenoid and antioxidant. Some studies have explored its role in immune function and skin health in dogs. Note: cats cannot convert beta-carotene to vitamin A.Sources: Chew et al. 2000 (Journal of Nutrition)Position on the ingredient list suggests a small inclusion level.